Holiday ONLY Mashed Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2004
I had a 10 pound bag of white potatoes, so I used them instead. Peeled all but 5 in the bag and quartered them and cooked them on low until they were falling apart. Drained, mashed and added salt & pepper, 2 sticks real butter, 4 oz cream cheese and heavy cream to get the consistency I wanted. After mashing and beating with hand mixer, I put in my crock pot dotted with some more butter on low for 1-1/2 to 2 hours until the rest of the meal was ready. They were the best mashed potatoes ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
187 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2004
Since being vegan, I tried this recipe with soy milk creamer, tasted like you used real half and half. Plus it cuts down the fat drastically.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2004
Thanks for the great recipe Nancy. My husband absolutely loves them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2003
These were pretty good. I used half&half instead of the heavy cream and a little less butter. I think next time I will add parsley or maybe rosemary. For special occasions I suggest using the heavy cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2003
I just scrub the potatoes and cube them leaving the peel on. I also like to cook the potatoes in chicken bouillon. When I do cook with the bouillon I have to be careful adding any addition salt. Also, like some other reviewers I add garlic powder to taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wilemon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Afton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Larkspur, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2003
Very good! I did not have any heavy cream on hand, so I used Cool Whip as a substitute, and they were delicious! Salt took the sweet edge off, and the potatoes were very fluffy, definately not gluey! Thanks Nancy! With the cool whip, you can enjoy these everyday!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2003
These are awesome. I make these all the time for my husband who loves them. I do add some garlic powder or roasted garlic to mix it up a bit. Thanks for posting. A keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momof2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Florissant, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2003
I halved the recipe and still used a little less heavy cream. Very good mashed potatoes - not the best I've ever had but they were very good. Yes, they're fattening but the good things always are. Went great with our baked chicken dinner. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2003
Holidays Only? Just substitute fat free dairy product for heavy cream and you can have them every day. I used 3/4 cup and 1t garlic powder. My family thought they were rich and creamy and went back for seconds. Thanks Nancy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2003
I thought these were great. I left the potatoes a little lumpy because I like them that way and added the milk (I didn't have or need the cream) until they were just right. Next time I will add a little garlic while the potatoes are cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: D'iberville, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 84) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Roasted Garlic Mashed Potatoes

The sweet flavor of roasted garlic makes these mashed potatoes to savor.

Ultimate Mashed Potatoes

Discover the simple secret to the most amazing holiday mashers ever.

Garlic Mashed Potatoes Secret Recipe

This "secret recipe" is so delicious, you just might want to double it.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States