Holiday ONLY Mashed Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2009
it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Middletown, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2008
I love these potatoes and look forward to them every year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by samantha

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2008
i followed the recipe, and these turned out very thick and kinda tasteless. I added some regular milk and more butter and they turned out pretty good. next time i would do half heavy cream and half milk, thanx for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2008
tastes like sticky mashed potatoes.. I'm sure I could have fixed the stickiness, but the flavor was really bland.. not rich or impressive.. just white mashed potatoes. Husband wasn't a fan. "Next time, can I just make the mashed potatoes?"-his exact words.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2008
The trick to avoid the "sticky" consistency is to drain potatoes well let sit a few minutes to dry some as the butter melts. Then add the cream a little at a time and mash or whip with a hand mixer till fluffy. No more gooey mashed potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2008
I just want to say this is a great recipe. The only thing I did was to put some cheddar cheese in them. The whole family loved them. I had to double the amount too. No left over at my house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabeth, Indiana, USA
Living In: Georgetown, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2008
YUM! These were EASY... and delicious! Everyone commented several times on how great these mashed potatoes were! I did use the suggestion by another reviewer and warmed (not melted) the butter and warmed the heavy cream. I haved used this method with sausage gravy as well and it really does make a difference. Thank you for sharing this wonderful recipe... oh I also added some fresh garlic to the potatoes and it was very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: South Bend, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2008
I normally make mashed potatoes with milk, butter, salt and pepper, and this pretty much tasted exactly the same, but with more fat. I almost want to say it had less flavor, but that doesn't make much sense.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2008
These were fantastic mashed potatoes! They made a great presentation on my dinner table. I topped with more butter and chives, and almost everyone asked for seconds! Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Victoria Williams

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bear River City, Utah, USA
Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2008
I use this same recipe for holidays, only I just use the butter to dot the finished dish and instead add two heaping tablespoons of mayonaise to give it more flavor because most people will add more butter anyway without tasting it. So why waste the butter especially on a holiday when it's needed more at the table and for other dishes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 91) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Roasted Garlic Mashed Potatoes

The sweet flavor of roasted garlic makes these mashed potatoes to savor.

Garlic Mashed Potatoes Secret Recipe

This "secret recipe" is so delicious, you just might want to double it.

Garlic Mashed Potatoes

Learn how to make red-potato mashers with garlic-flavored spreadable cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States