Holiday Left-Over Sweet Potato Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2014
This cake is moist, light, and delicious! I definitely will make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2013
Just made this recipe this morning. Based on previous reviews, used one cup white sugar and half a cup of brown sugar. Also used half a cup of natural applesauce instead of oil. Pleasantly sweet enough. Used a half cup of whole wheat flour with the remaining amount all purpose. Not heavy at all. Did not need to add the beer or any other liquid to thin the batter. Used an ice cream scoop to fill mini bundt pans (about cupcake size). Baked them for approximately 18 minutes. Great consistency. Lacked a little in taste without icing or powdered sugar. Will add nuts and/or raisins next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2013
Thank you MLYIN for this recipe! I had a bunch of sweet potatos that I needed to use before they went bad and this cake was perfect for that! I roasted my potatos for about an hour at 350 and then mashed them up. I only used 1 1/2 cup sugar as that was plenty and added 1/4 cup of greek yogurt too. I totally forgot to add the beer but still turned out delicous! I think I like sweet potato cake better than pumpkin cake! So moist and flavorful, you will never know it's sweet potatos in it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2013
Amazing! Super moist! I subbed sugar for a combo of agave & stevia. I also milled 1 cup of oatmeal(i used quick oats)and used that instead of 1 cup of flour. I'm wondering if using pumpkin will work out as well too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2013
I can't stop making this cake and people can't stop asking me to. I pride myself on making good homemade cakes. But this cake even my 14 yr.old has declared her favorite! For me this is not a "left over" sweet potato cake, as coming from the South, sweet potatoes done right never last to be "left over". Therefore starting with fresh sweet potatoes, boiled and mashed I take the sugar up to 2 cups, using 1 cup of granulated white sugar and 1 cup of firmly packed light brown sugar. This amount of sugar is typical for any homemade cake. I also use 2 tsp. of vanilla and about 1/4 to 1/2 tsp of nutmeg. This cake is super moist and can stand on it's own. However to really take it over the moon, and make my Southern Mama proud, I make a super light and very fluffy homemade cream cheese frosting. From the first slice, even the cake plate is barely left over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2012
I made this for Christmas so that my little grandson could have some healthy cake. I used 1 cup whole wheat flour & 1 cup unbleached flour, extra spices, and orange juice instead of beer. It tasted wonderful! Moist and delicious & it freezes well too. A few people were scared to try it but once I convinced them most of them enjoyed the cake. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2012
LOVED that this recipe is dairy-free without any changes! I used light beer because I didn't want any bitter taste. I wasn't sure about beer in a cake, but it turned out great. I did trade some of the sugar for sorghum and added some ginger, just for a little more gingerbread flavor. I was thinking that this would be good with cream cheese or cinnamon buttercream frosting, but I've alread eaten half of the cake! I will have to make this again and make some frosting before I eat the whole thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Medford, Oregon, USA
Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2012
I just made this last night and SOOO LOVED it. I'm going to make it for Christmas also. I had so much sweet potatoes left over. I need something to do with them. THIS was PERFECT, very moist, delicious and so easy to make. Even my boyfriend loved it and he doesn't like Sweet Potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2012
I turned this recipe into muffins for an easy-to-eat-on-the-road snack and they came out perfectly! I used up all of our leftover sweet potato casserole and half a Newcastle Brown Ale in the batter (drank the other half). Added a cup of golden raisins and sprinkled demerara sugar on the tops for a little texture...and voila! The BF is raving about them...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lkatano

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Monterey Park, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2012
I made this yesterday, and it came out very tasty. It was a little flate for some reason, but I did swap the oil for applesauce, and used egg beaters instead of eggs, plus I sweetened with splenda (my sister is diabetic) and used whole wheat white flour. Maybe one of those swaps didn't let it puff up like it should. I might use this same recipe for a sweet potato quick bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lulu

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Whipped Sweet Potato Casserole

See how to make a classic Thanksgiving sweet potato casserole.

Sweet Potato Pie I

This is a satisfying Southern dessert that's perfect in fall and winter.

How to Fix Burnt Sweet Potato Casserole

Topping burn on your sweet potato casserole? We’ve got just the fix.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States