Holiday Guacamole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2004
I am the submitter of the recipe and forgot to mention that the avocado should be mashed up and to mix in pomegranate seeds, not whole pomegranate. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ridaen
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2008
Homemade guacamole is so much better! And this recipe is fantastic. I made a bit more than the recipe called for: 6 avocados, 3 finely diced pears, 1 finely diced small onion, about 2 cups of green grapes that I quartered because they were huge, the seeds from 1 pomegranate, the juice from 1 large lime, and two de-seeded serrano peppers. I had no idea how many seeds one pomegranate produces, but found just 1 to be plenty for my liking. And I'd be careful with the serrano peppers unless you know you like things hot. I only used two (and de-seeded them as well) to make sure my spice intolerant family members will actually be able to eat it. I can't wait to bring it to our Christmas festivities!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ridaen

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2007
I loved this twist on traditional guacamole. The only substitution I made for this recipe is using red grapes for the green. My grocery didn't have any green grapes in stock. The flavor was sweet/spicy and I did get a couple of thumbs up when I brought it to a family Christmas gathering. This recipe is a keeper for foodies like myself!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2009
my roommate found this recipe and we loved it. We used red grapes since that was what we had in the house and omitted the serrano chile peppers, instead we used some chile and cayenne powder. All of the different flavors were a great combination. Thank you so very much for sharing this recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mickaella Litman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pfafftown, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
i like to try new and unique flavors..and this fit the bill. I was unsure of the recipe, so only made 1/2 batch. Don't make the same mistake! My daughter and I LOVED this! would definately make again..and again. Not only was it pretty, it appealed to even those unsure of guacamole. Good job!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Warren, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2008
This guacamole rated the approval of both my 15-year-old son at home and 50-something office mates at work! It's quick, easy and looks pretty at a holiday dinner. I've already made it several times in the last month. Oh, and it's healthy too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2008
Very easy to make and looks really good! I am taking it to a party tonight and I am sure it will be a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Champaign, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2011
Love this recipe! Very different, and very delicious! I was nervous at first about adding the fruit, but it turned out great! My family is super picky and they loved it. I only used 2 chile peppers, and that was plenty. And I've made it a few times now, with and without the grapes, I prefer it without. But it's good either way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Bethann
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2012
Excellent twist on guacamole. The juxtaposition of the peppers and fruit makes it an exciting change. Unless you're feeding a large party, you'll want to cut the recipe down.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2012
I was very skeptical about this recipe. But I had red and green tortilla chips that I wanted to use at my Christmas buffet. I made this exactly as written. And it was a real hit. Unusual, but very tasty. I had some left over, only because I had so much food, and the next day I thought it was even better. Don’t be afraid of this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grapevine, Texas, USA
Living In: Livingston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chunky Paleo Guacamole

A chunky-style guacamole with diced jalapenos, garlic, and tomatoes.

How to Make Guacamole

Make fresh guacamole in less than 10 minutes—and get tips on peeling tomatoes.

Guacamole

See how to make classic guacamole with all fresh ingredients.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States