Holiday Green Gelatin Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2007
My mother has used this recipe for years and it's always been a favorite around our house. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terri Kibbe-Smith

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wellington, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2007
My sister-in-law asked if I could find and make this recipe for Thanksgiving and I am so glad I did, it was great! I did use sugar free jello and light mayo and it still tasted great. I am sure I will be making this many times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2007
I am so thrilled to see this recipe as it has been a family favorite for generations in our family as well. We always thought that our family was the only one that liked it as in-laws and others did not appreciate it even slightly! In our family we included, if you can believe it a teaspoon or more of prepared horseradish! Gives it a kick and is completely bizarre to wrap your head around but it works. Ours also used walnuts from the family farm in Gridley, CA. This recipe made me very nostalgic for wonderful holidays during my youth. THANKS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peggy Cole Ashman McEntee

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2007
My Mother made this always for the holidays she added chopped celery. It really added a great taste and crunch. I would say 1/2 cup to this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy Ales

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Modesto, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2007
My family, too, has made this recipe for years, we all love it and think Thanksgiving and Christmas require this salad. However, we add chopped celery, but never canned milk. How does that affect the salad?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sweet Home, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2007
I took this to a potluck this weekend and everyone wanted the recipe. Awesome salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2007
My family makes this every thankgiving and sometimes christmas....we change it up a bit, though. Instead of mayo and milk we use yogurt (either lime or lemon flavor) and we also use walnuts instead of pecans. Its delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2008
I don't know what I did wrong, but this was a disaster. I made it for a holiday meal at work. It never gelled. It stayed in a liquid form. I was mortified. The saving grace was that it tasted delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peggy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Jackson, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2008
Hello! We have updated step 1 in the directions for this recipe. This should solve some of the problems regarding the gelatin not setting. We hope this helps! - Ths Staff
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
83 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2008
I was very excited to see this recipe. My mom & grandma have made this for years, our family loves it! My recipe was very vague so it is nice to have a more detailed description. To cut calories and sugar I have made this with sugar-free jello, low-cal mayo, & fat-free evaporated milk & it it still tastes great! Sometimes, walnuts & marachino cherries are added.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HOTMAMMACOOKIN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sumner, Washington, USA
Living In: Ferndale, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Green Grape Salad

This dessert salad is creamy with bursts of grape flavor.

Rainbow Salad Jell-O® Mold

See how to make a fun and colorful dessert salad in a Jell-O mold.

Holiday Chicken Salad

The cranberries provide the seasonal punch to this tasty salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States