Holiday Green Gelatin Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2008
Hello! We have updated step 1 in the directions for this recipe. This should solve some of the problems regarding the gelatin not setting. We hope this helps! - Ths Staff
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
83 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2008
I had no idea I would find this recipe here, and it is a little different from the one we make. In my family, it is always a tradition on Thanksgiving or Christmas. We make it with creamed cheese instead of mayo, milk, and cottage cheese. I never get tired of it, but it's a good thing we only have it once or twice a year!!! Any way you make it, it's GREAT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2007
My family makes this every thankgiving and sometimes christmas....we change it up a bit, though. Instead of mayo and milk we use yogurt (either lime or lemon flavor) and we also use walnuts instead of pecans. Its delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by vanessa
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2009
oh... my.... god. i cant stop saying it. i made some of this tonight, was a little iffy about the mayo but i put it in anyways, was a little worried about how it would turn out because it smelled really mayonnaisey when i went to put it in the fridge and seemed a little greasy around the edge of the bowl when i went to wipe the edge for a picture. im saving it for dessert tomorrow but i wanted to taste a little bit to see how it turned out.. and HOLY . this stuff is absolutely to die for. that little bit is about to turn into the whole bowl full, but i need to be strong. i did everything exactly how the instructions said, except i dont like pecans so i substituted those for sliced almonds and i added shredded coconut. nothing too drastic that would change the flavor much from the original recipe. its not how i remember the green jello salad being made when i was little (i think it was just pineapple, grapes, coconut and pecans mixed in the lime jello) but its good... much MUCH better than how i had it when i was growing up. definitely keeping this one for years and years.. and im going to share it with anyone that will take it. do NOT let the mayonnaise in it stop you from making this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vanessa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2007
My Mother made this always for the holidays she added chopped celery. It really added a great taste and crunch. I would say 1/2 cup to this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Modesto, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2007
I am so thrilled to see this recipe as it has been a family favorite for generations in our family as well. We always thought that our family was the only one that liked it as in-laws and others did not appreciate it even slightly! In our family we included, if you can believe it a teaspoon or more of prepared horseradish! Gives it a kick and is completely bizarre to wrap your head around but it works. Ours also used walnuts from the family farm in Gridley, CA. This recipe made me very nostalgic for wonderful holidays during my youth. THANKS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2007
My family, too, has made this recipe for years, we all love it and think Thanksgiving and Christmas require this salad. However, we add chopped celery, but never canned milk. How does that affect the salad?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sweet Home, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2008
Delicous! I was a little nervous at first when i read about the mayo since i'm not big on mayo, but it tasted wonderful!! I didn't add the pecans since i don't like nuts and it was perfect. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Riverside, California, USA
Living In: Bullhead City, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2012
One of my family's favorite holiday treats. It has been a staple menu item at every Thanksgiving, Christmas and Easter for decades. (Except we use walnuts and chopped celery instead of pecans.) Just make sure you dissolve the gelatin properly, and give it plenty of time to set before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by clvanderbilt

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
This was my first time making this for a potluck luncheon at work and it was very tasty. I did make some modifications and everyone said it tasted great. My changes: 1. Substituted 1 cup plain yogurt for the mayo 2. Used the crushed pineapple juice + juice from drained small can mandarin oranges + water to make 1 cup liquid 3. Added 1 cup shredded flake coconut 4. Added small can of mandarin oranges I let it refrigerate overnight and it was nicely gelled the next morning. Yummy! Will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Green Grape Salad

This dessert salad is creamy with bursts of grape flavor.

Holiday Chicken Salad

The cranberries provide the seasonal punch to this tasty salad.

Rainbow Salad Jell-O® Mold

See how to make a fun and colorful dessert salad in a Jell-O mold.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States