Holiday Dressing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2011
Big hit with the family! I made two pans but the first one seemed too mushy so on the second, I reduced the broth by 1/2 cup as others suggested and it turned out perfect. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2011
Thanks for the other reviews. I doubled this recipe for a dinner with 20 adults, 11 kids. I cut back the chicken stock as suggested, left out the bell pepper, cubed the white bread instead of using the processor (used a full loaf for double the recipe. Cut it into cubes and then let it sit out over night) and added extra sage. It was delicious and the crowd was very pleased. Texture was moist (not dry or too wet) and hearty enough to chew. I did drain the sausage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2011
This is much like I cook. I have a little trick that really works well. I add all of the condiments to the cornbread before baking. It's tastier and easier. I would leave out the bell peppers also. Adding a couple of chopped boiled eggs are good. Welcome to Texas cooking!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Abilene, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2011
I had 10 people over for thanksgiving dinner and every one of them said this was the best stuffing they have ever had! I used a bit more cornbread and a little less peppers and maple sausage. Going to try it with chorizo for Christmas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
This was my first ever Dressing I have made and it turned out Perfect. I have had so many compliments on it. Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Simplymel42
Home Town: Lakeland, Florida, USA
Living In: Mulberry, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
This was an excellent dressing. Everyone raved about it. I will definitely be making this one again and again. Thank you for sharing it. I didn't change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
I was looking for something Grandma used to make when I came across this recipe. Very close! The only thing I did different was that I made a skillet of cornbread from corn meal as opposed to the corn meal mix. Very good! I will be making this from now on. Thanks! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
This turned out very good today for Thanksgiving. I went exactly by the recipe, except I cut back just a little on the herb seasonings. It was perfect, got many compliments. I used medium sausage, one pound, in my opinion it did not need more. I would've given this 5 stars, but feel that I can't since I cut back on the seasonings a little. I will be using this again for Christmas, it is definitely a keeper (I will always use a little less seasoning than called for, for me seasoning amounts listed are a little too strong, just my opinion). I used 4 cups of chicken stock as called for. I learned a long time ago, if you take a potato masher and mash and mix your dressing quite a bit before putting in pan to bake, your dressing texture turns out quite nice, just add the sausage after the mixing so it won't blend your sausage into mush. I baked exactly one hour at temperature called for and it was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda M

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Greenwood, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
This was a favorite dressing recipe but I changed it by adding granny smith apples, and tripled the recipe which made much more than a 9x13 pan as stated in the recipe. I was able to fill 3/4 of the way to the top of a roaster pan for a 20 lb turkey, plus put 8 cups in my turkey. It fed our huge crowd. I used my own bread crumbs that I make the days before TG but everything else I do almost according to this. It is a good recipe to have for someone who is doing TG at their home for the first time and has never made Dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
This stuffing is excellent!!! I added mushrooms and used 3 cups of chicken stock instead of 4. Even my extremely picky toddler ate it! Takes alot of prep work but its so worth it in the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 175) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Holiday Dressing

This savory dressing stars pork sausage and corn bread.

Oyster Dressing or Stuffing

See how to make the perfect Thanksgiving stuffing for seafood lovers.

How to Make Brussels Sprouts with Bacon Dressing

See how to make simple Brussels sprouts with a warm bacon dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States