Holiday Dressing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2005
Very good recipe. Thanks for sharing. The only change I made was to use an 8" skillet of cornbread (in the South we don't use cornbread mix lol) I think it needs just a slight bit of tweaking to be perfect. #1--is mushy, so I think the cooking temp should be brought up to at least 350­° & possibly reduce the broth by 1/2 - 1 cup; #2--needs a bit more sage flavor, next time I will either increase sage by 1 tsp or use sage flavored sausage. (p.s..for those leaving out the green bell pepper, you are missing out on some great flavor, just chop it really fine & you will not know it is there) Update: I remade this recipe; I decreased the chicken broth to 3 cups, upped the sage to 1 tablespoon, used sage sausage, & upped the cooking temp to 350. IMHO those changes have made the dressing perfect (& now 5 star rated).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
162 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Pelham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2002
I made this recipe using Mrs. Cubbison's seasoned bread crumbs, one pkg. cornbread and one pkg. regular, and chopping up a left over loaf of day old french bread. I also used mushrooms and no green bell pepper(I didn't have one). I left in all the seasonings the recipe called for,even though the bread crumbs were seasoned(the only thing I reduced was the salt). Needless to say, everyone raved and had seconds and thirds. There were six of us and there wasn't much left afterwards. This is just a good old fashioned, can't go wrong, please everybody, kind of a recipe. I will be making this every year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2011
Well, THIS is Gloria!! I cannot believe my recipe it in here but I'm proud it is! I do believe you need to cook the cornbread in a skillet first! That would be better! Thanks. Louise and I have been friends since the 8th grade!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2001
This turned out great! I did use a little less broth; about a 1/2 cup less. The flavor was wonderful. A keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Vallejo, California, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2001
This is wonderful! It is super moist and very easy. It does take some prep time, but well worth it. I have made this twice this season already and everyone wants the recipe. They ate every bite at my company holiday party! Hint: I used 2 boxes of Jiffy cornbread and the second time I made it, I reduced the white bread to about 10 slices. This will feed 15 people easily.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2002
This was enjoyed by all on Thanksgiving!! The only thing I would leave out next time would be the green pepper. I like green peppers but I never used it in dressing before and I thought it did not taste well with the other ingredients. I added 1-lb of mushrooms and used italian sausage. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
This was my first time making a real "holiday" dressing. It was wonderful.I changed some of the spice proportions because a needed to make enough for 20 servings. I added spices to the cornbread to cut down on the sweetness, and also added more spices to the dressing itself. This is a real keeper. Will use this as my "go to" dressing recipe from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pamela Fletcher

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2011
Thanks for the other reviews. I doubled this recipe for a dinner with 20 adults, 11 kids. I cut back the chicken stock as suggested, left out the bell pepper, cubed the white bread instead of using the processor (used a full loaf for double the recipe. Cut it into cubes and then let it sit out over night) and added extra sage. It was delicious and the crowd was very pleased. Texture was moist (not dry or too wet) and hearty enough to chew. I did drain the sausage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2002
Nothing fancy or unusual about this, it's just good, old fashioned tasting stuffing. Brought back memories just by the smell! We followed the directions except using veggie sausage. My husband stated 'tasted MUCH better than the kind out of the box!'
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Daniel den Hoed

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spijkenisse, Zuid-Holland, Netherlands

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2011
This is much like I cook. I have a little trick that really works well. I add all of the condiments to the cornbread before baking. It's tastier and easier. I would leave out the bell peppers also. Adding a couple of chopped boiled eggs are good. Welcome to Texas cooking!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Abilene, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 182) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Holiday Dressing

This savory dressing stars pork sausage and corn bread.

Oyster Dressing or Stuffing

See how to make the perfect Thanksgiving stuffing for seafood lovers.

How to Make Brussels Sprouts with Bacon Dressing

See how to make simple Brussels sprouts with a warm bacon dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States