Holiday Dressing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2005
Very good recipe. Thanks for sharing. The only change I made was to use an 8" skillet of cornbread (in the South we don't use cornbread mix lol) I think it needs just a slight bit of tweaking to be perfect. #1--is mushy, so I think the cooking temp should be brought up to at least 350­° & possibly reduce the broth by 1/2 - 1 cup; #2--needs a bit more sage flavor, next time I will either increase sage by 1 tsp or use sage flavored sausage. (p.s..for those leaving out the green bell pepper, you are missing out on some great flavor, just chop it really fine & you will not know it is there) Update: I remade this recipe; I decreased the chicken broth to 3 cups, upped the sage to 1 tablespoon, used sage sausage, & upped the cooking temp to 350. IMHO those changes have made the dressing perfect (& now 5 star rated).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
137 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Pelham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2005
completely fantastic... my family can't get enough of this stuff!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2005
This was incredible! It smelled heavenly while preparing and baking, and I could barely keep my husband out of the kitchen! It put my mother in law's dressing to shame, and it was so good that she told me that I'm in charge of making the dressing from now on! Now THAT'S a compliment! There were NO leftovers, which was a dissappointment to many and a surprise to me, since I thought I had made quite a bit! Thanks for a great recipe! I didn't change a thing and won't!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Superior, Montana, USA
Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2005
I have been making this dressing for 3 years now, my whole family expects it! I have never had dressing that was this good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2005
this recipe was time consuming and very oily. The sweetness of the cornbread in contrast to the other seasonings was awful. Would not use again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2005
Looking back, it was a risky move to use this for the first time on Christmas Eve for people who are very picky about their stuffing.. Well, the risk paid off - everyone LOVED it! This is a great recipe!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Zimmerman, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2005
Excellent! Added more sausage and baked it 20 minutes longer...came out perfect! A keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2005
The best dressing recipe I've ever used. My mother insists that I bring this to our holiday dinners.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wendy Weaver

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2004
This was the first time I ever made homemade stuffing. It was easy and sooo good! I am now passing it through the family. Everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2004
My family enjoyed this recipe but it was our first using cornbread so the taste was new for us. The texture is also a bit finer due to "processing" the bread. My husband liked the taste but was used to a chunkier dressing. I also cooked it in my crockpot as my oven broke on Christmas morning and it turned out fine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 172) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Holiday Dressing

This savory dressing stars pork sausage and corn bread.

Oyster Dressing or Stuffing

See how to make the perfect Thanksgiving stuffing for seafood lovers.

How to Make Brussels Sprouts with Bacon Dressing

See how to make simple Brussels sprouts with a warm bacon dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States