Holiday Dressing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 16)
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2002
This was enjoyed by all on Thanksgiving!! The only thing I would leave out next time would be the green pepper. I like green peppers but I never used it in dressing before and I thought it did not taste well with the other ingredients. I added 1-lb of mushrooms and used italian sausage. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2002
REALLY good. My husband and son can't stop talking about this dressing. Best we've ever had. Mine was a little mushy after I added all the ingredients. So I added a few more pieces of bread until it looked the right consistency. Other than that....perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Springfield, Missouri, USA
Living In: Wilbraham, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2002
I thought this recipe was terrific! No lie. I DEFINATELY agree on cutting back the chicken stock. I used 2cups plus a I made Cup of soup and drained the noodles ( i was low on stock!) I also added extra sage which helped the flavor. The sausage was quite tasty, I used italian turkey sausage it was a lot less fatty and a great addition to the thanksgiving spirit! i was nibbling at it right after it came from the oven! a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2002
I made this recipe using Mrs. Cubbison's seasoned bread crumbs, one pkg. cornbread and one pkg. regular, and chopping up a left over loaf of day old french bread. I also used mushrooms and no green bell pepper(I didn't have one). I left in all the seasonings the recipe called for,even though the bread crumbs were seasoned(the only thing I reduced was the salt). Needless to say, everyone raved and had seconds and thirds. There were six of us and there wasn't much left afterwards. This is just a good old fashioned, can't go wrong, please everybody, kind of a recipe. I will be making this every year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2002
Nothing fancy or unusual about this, it's just good, old fashioned tasting stuffing. Brought back memories just by the smell! We followed the directions except using veggie sausage. My husband stated 'tasted MUCH better than the kind out of the box!'
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Daniel den Hoed

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spijkenisse, Zuid-Holland, Netherlands

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2002
I made this for 2001 Thanksgiving and for Easter 2002. It's my family's new dressing! They absolutely loved it and raved about it. One suggestion is to leave both breads in small pieces so it's not grainy. For the sausage, leave chunky..you'll taste it more. This is a winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2002
This dressing was excellent! I served this to rave reviews. It makes a lot so prepare to have leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hamden, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2002
This dressing was really good. My whole family loved it. I substituted ground pork for the sausage and used bouillon cubes for the stock instead of the canned stock. It was excellent. Can't wait to prepare this dressing in a turkey!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2002
This recipe is very good. I used mushrooms instead of onions, and that worked out nicely. It is hard to taste the sausage though, I may have to look for a more flavorful one. I ended up only using 1 can of 14.5 oz chicken broth, and that was just enough. Any more would be a puddle of dressing. A little on the sweet side, I will follow the 'less cornbread, more whitebread' suggestion. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STARDUST_331

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scarsdale, New York, USA
Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2001
This is wonderful! It is super moist and very easy. It does take some prep time, but well worth it. I have made this twice this season already and everyone wants the recipe. They ate every bite at my company holiday party! Hint: I used 2 boxes of Jiffy cornbread and the second time I made it, I reduced the white bread to about 10 slices. This will feed 15 people easily.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 151-160 (of 171) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Holiday Dressing

This savory dressing stars pork sausage and corn bread.

Oyster Dressing or Stuffing

See how to make the perfect Thanksgiving stuffing for seafood lovers.

How to Make Brussels Sprouts with Bacon Dressing

See how to make simple Brussels sprouts with a warm bacon dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States