Holiday Dressing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 16)
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2003
simply deee-licious!!! This was my first stab at a "made from scratch" recipe, so I was very apprehensive about trying this one.. but the results were stunning! It was served for our christmas dinner, and it was very well liked. I agree to reduce the amount of stock to at least 3 cups.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KAYE STUDT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brookville, Indiana, USA
Living In: Madison, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2002
this was not good at all, it tasted too much like stovetop stuffing, which none of us like. i don't know what y'all call good, but this wasn't it. sorry, but i will most definately keep searching...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2002
We decided to try a new recipe for dressing on Turkey Day, I prepared this dish and after tasting it I agreed with other family members that the dressing was "okay" nothing special. If I was to make a change I would leave out the green peppers it doesnt go with the dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2002
This was enjoyed by all on Thanksgiving!! The only thing I would leave out next time would be the green pepper. I like green peppers but I never used it in dressing before and I thought it did not taste well with the other ingredients. I added 1-lb of mushrooms and used italian sausage. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2002
REALLY good. My husband and son can't stop talking about this dressing. Best we've ever had. Mine was a little mushy after I added all the ingredients. So I added a few more pieces of bread until it looked the right consistency. Other than that....perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Springfield, Missouri, USA
Living In: Wilbraham, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2002
I thought this recipe was terrific! No lie. I DEFINATELY agree on cutting back the chicken stock. I used 2cups plus a I made Cup of soup and drained the noodles ( i was low on stock!) I also added extra sage which helped the flavor. The sausage was quite tasty, I used italian turkey sausage it was a lot less fatty and a great addition to the thanksgiving spirit! i was nibbling at it right after it came from the oven! a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2002
I made this recipe using Mrs. Cubbison's seasoned bread crumbs, one pkg. cornbread and one pkg. regular, and chopping up a left over loaf of day old french bread. I also used mushrooms and no green bell pepper(I didn't have one). I left in all the seasonings the recipe called for,even though the bread crumbs were seasoned(the only thing I reduced was the salt). Needless to say, everyone raved and had seconds and thirds. There were six of us and there wasn't much left afterwards. This is just a good old fashioned, can't go wrong, please everybody, kind of a recipe. I will be making this every year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2002
Nothing fancy or unusual about this, it's just good, old fashioned tasting stuffing. Brought back memories just by the smell! We followed the directions except using veggie sausage. My husband stated 'tasted MUCH better than the kind out of the box!'
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Daniel den Hoed

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spijkenisse, Zuid-Holland, Netherlands

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2002
I made this for 2001 Thanksgiving and for Easter 2002. It's my family's new dressing! They absolutely loved it and raved about it. One suggestion is to leave both breads in small pieces so it's not grainy. For the sausage, leave chunky..you'll taste it more. This is a winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2002
This dressing was excellent! I served this to rave reviews. It makes a lot so prepare to have leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hamden, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 151-160 (of 174) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Holiday Dressing

This savory dressing stars pork sausage and corn bread.

Oyster Dressing or Stuffing

See how to make the perfect Thanksgiving stuffing for seafood lovers.

How to Make Brussels Sprouts with Bacon Dressing

See how to make simple Brussels sprouts with a warm bacon dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States