Holiday Cranberry Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2009
I made this for Thanksgiving dinner at our home this year, and it was the most talked-about dish on the table. By the end of the meal, several of us were dipping our dinner rolls in it, and one clever cousin walked into the den after dinner with a bowl of vanilla ice cream topped with leftover cranberry sauce. It's remarkable. I'll never again be able to stomach another slab of that wobbly, rubbery canned stuff ever again. Good thing this recipe is also really, really easy. The only thing I did that wasn't in the recipe was I used my stick blender to make the mixture smooth. Thanks for a wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2009
I really liked this dish. I probably won't make it again though because unfortunately my family prefers the canned stuff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Olive Branch, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2009
This is a wonderful cranberry sauce w/ great spice flavor. I prefer a cranberry chutney so probably will not make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2009
This is the best cranberry sauce I have ever had and the first I have ever made! It is very easy to prepare and has wonderful flavor - the only thing I added was the zest of one orange which balanced the sweetness some other reviews commented on. This is an instant holiday favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ACaneva

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2009
YUMMY! MADE WITH SPLENDA, DID NOT HAVE SPICE BAG SO PICKED OUT SPICES AFTER COOLING, TOOK ABOUT A MINUTE. LEFTOVERS FROZE VERY WELL. WARMED UP LEFTOVERS AND SERVED ON TOP OF RICOTTA CREAM (RICOTTA, SPLENDA, VANILLA). THANKS FOR A KEEPER!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ozone Park, New York, USA
Living In: Sayreville, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2009
Okay, no one in my family even likes that canned cranberry sauce stuff, including myself. I just knew there was more potential for deliciousness rom fresh cranberries. This was one of the biggest hits of the Thanksgiving table this year - everyone LOVED it, cranberry haters included! When I took it off the heat it was pretty soupy and sloshed around everywhere, but it definitely sets into a jelly-like consistency in the fridge overnight. Perfect amount of spices and sweetness. It's great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2009
Excellent as is. I halved the recipe for 9 of us and it was plenty with a little left over. I didn't have cheesecloth or a spice bag so I used a tea ball for the cloves and allspice and just threw in the cinnamon sticks, fishing them out when it was done. I would only change the cranberries to 24oz since they usually come in 12oz bags- I don't think any of the other quantities wuold need adjusting with the slight increase in berries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrea McEvoy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mcminnville, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2009
To die for!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caitlin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2009
My favorite cranberry sauce recipe. I added 1/8 C frozen orange juice. I also smashed the cooked berries so that the children might like it better. It was a success!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2009
Very good, first time I have ever made homemade cranberry sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Meadow Brady

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Alma, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 175) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Tangerine Cherry Cranberry Sauce

See how to make a classic holiday cranberry sauce.

Cranberry Sauce I

This easy cranberry sauce is flavored with orange juice. Enjoy!

How to Make Cranberry Sauce

Learn how to make this quick, delicious recipe using whole cranberries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States