Holiday Cranberry Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2006
I never made cranberry sauce before, and decided that I would make it for the family Thanksgiving dinner this year. It was a HIT. The only thing that I had to change is that when you first start cooking this, bring to a boil then reduce to medium heat and wait for the berries to burst. Otherwise it doesn't get as thick as you would expect. I figured this out based on reviewing other similar cranberry sauce recipes before making this one. I decided upon this one because of all the spices that were in this. They really made a delicious cranberry sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
183 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gwenn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2006
WOW! This stuff is so good I couldn't stop eating it out of the saucepan and I've never been a fan of cranberry sauce! If you can boil water, you can make this. After reading other reviews, I decreased sugar to about 1 1/2 cups and I grated the zest of one small orange right over the pot as it cooked, which I think gave it just the right layering of flavors without overpowering it. Thanks for the recipe - it's a keeper and has now joined my holiday recipe collection.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
154 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Leawood, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2006
I love this recipe, the changes I made were to decrease the sugar to 1.5 cups and instead of adding the sugar at the end i cooked it all together to make more of a gelled chutney type. We have tried it with pork chops and found it to be a wonderful addition. Will use this recipe for years to come.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
118 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2006
Never really liked cran sauce, but wanted to be adventurous this holiday season. We give this 5 stars with our modifications: substituted the water for orange juice, halved the sugar, eliminated the spice bag itself and just tossed in the cinn sticks and cloves (easy to remove before refrigeration). We also sprinkled in a bit of pumpkin pie spice. FYI - it took much longer than 15 minutes cooking time for all the berries to burst. Overall, smelled fantastic while cooking & was a huge success at the table.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
89 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2008
This MADE our Thanksgiving dinner, and I will never go back to canned cranberries again. It was so easy. I wrapped up the spices in a coffee filter and tied with thread since I didn't have a spice bag.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Cruces, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Peoria, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2002
My family and I LOVED this. I served it along with the turkey at Christmas dinner, and everyone said that they would no longer use the canned variety. It was easy to make; the only change I made was that I substituted orange juice for the water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bronx, New York, USA
Living In: Greenwood Lake, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2005
This recipe was a little sweet for me. Next time I will not add so much sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Statesboro, Georgia, USA
Living In: Peoria, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2008
My husband cringed when I told him I wanted to make cranberry sauce for this upcoming Thanksgiving because he has HORRIBLE memories of cranberry sauce, past & present! OMG!!! This cranberry sauce is so tasty, delicious, tangy and easy to make! I rarely follow any cooking recipe to a "tee," so I did improvise a bit. I decreased the sugar to 1 cup and instead of bundling spices, I used a few pinches of nutmeg, a few pinches of cinnammon and an exotic mixture of dried allspice (with ginger, anise, clove, cinammon & nutmeg). I went VERY EASY (a spinkle or two) with this exotic allspice 'cause I didn't want the sauce to become too bitter. Also, the cranberries, sugar & water DO need to cook for approxiamtely 20 minutes to get a true sauce consistency. But ohhhhh so good! I cannot believe how tasty this recipe turned out, with a deep red color...so pretty, too! Cannot wait to serve this cranberry sauce to my family for Thanksgiving! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by toni lee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Providence, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Belleville, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2005
Great and easy recipe! I added a little bit of orange and almond extract, probably didn't need it, but the flavor of this dish is wonderful
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Cypress, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2005
I have never really liked cranberry sauce. However I made this receipe and I was truly amazed. For the first time in 45 years I like cranberry sauce. Very excellent receipe. Wouldn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Niles, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 164) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Mango Cranberry Sauce

See how to make mango cranberry sauce with a secret kick.

Tangerine Cherry Cranberry Sauce

See how to make a classic holiday cranberry sauce.

Cranberry Sauce I

This easy cranberry sauce is flavored with orange juice. Enjoy!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States