Holiday Cranberry Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2008
Excellent! I loved the spices! Don't skimp on the sugar, or it will be too tart. This jelled nicely into a firm sauce in the refrigerator, so make sure to transfer it to your serving dish before chilling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2008
This MADE our Thanksgiving dinner, and I will never go back to canned cranberries again. It was so easy. I wrapped up the spices in a coffee filter and tied with thread since I didn't have a spice bag.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Cruces, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Peoria, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2008
This is amazing! My husbands told me to make sure & buy him a can of the jellied stuff because he hates real cranberry sauce. He is STILL raving about it. I caught him using on toast this morning like jam. The spice mix is key. It imparts a unique flavor to the sauce unlike any other I have had. I will be making this every thanksgiving! Thanks for the EASY & DELICIOUS recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CMUCKEY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Spencer, Iowa, USA
Living In: Henderson, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2008
I made this for Thanksgiving and I don't think I'll buy cranberry sauce again. I didn't have the whole spices so I just put in a couple dashes of ground spices. I reduced the sugar to 1.5 c. and I think the sweetness was perfect. I also added the zest from one orange. I put the sugar, water and cranberries together over high heat and let them boil to get the cranberries to burst faster and it didn't take long.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2008
Amazing! We never usually have Cranberry Sauce for Thanksgiving.. But this year I decided to make this recipe and it was a hit!!!!! ABSOLUTELY DELICIOUS!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2008
UPDATE: I am changing my rating to 5 *'s!!!!! My mom requested I make this again for Xmas dinner. I took some to my bf's parent's house too (we had Xmas dinner with both my family & his). Everyone LOVED this (except for my bf and one of his bros - confirmed cranberry haters!). My only change this time was to add the sugar in the beginning as this is how I've always done it. Yum, yum!!! What an excellent recipe!!! My family just RAVED over this! Served alongside the "after Thanksgiving" dinner I prepared for my parents, bf & myself. My bf didn't care for this (but he dislikes cranberries anyways). This is a very "sticky" cran sauce that must be covered when put in the fridge to prevent it from drying out (my usual relish is not "gooey" like this... the high sugar content is the reason). Before serving, just stir and it will be fine. I must warn that the prep directions are a bit off. It will take at least 20 to 30 min. for your cranberries to pop. Simply bring a pot of cranberries & H2O to a boil (I subbed OJ for the H2O called for) and, when the berries begin to pop, reduce heat to low, add sugar and simmer until thickened. If some of the berries do not burst, gently mash them w/ a potato masher or pulse on low speed w/ a hand blender. Other than that (and also subbing homemade vanilla sugar for white sugar - thanks What a Dish for the idea!), I followed MARJK's directions to a T. This was a HUGE hit and will definitely find a place in my "keeper" file. Thx. for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2008
Yummy sauce, much better than the canned variety. I added some orange peel and 1/2 the sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHARITYBOO

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oshkosh, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2008
Im rating off of my changes I made to the recipe because this recipe was a little off. the berries took longer than 10 minutes to pop... it was more realistically an hour. i didnt have a spice bag so I used a coffee filter and tied it off with a bread tie on top and it worked perfectly. even after letting the spices stew in the sauce it didnt have quite the cranberry zing so I hence added a little ground cinnamon and ground clove. For some reason in my family my grandmother always put chopped pecans in the cranberry sauce so I added 1/4 a cup and it was a perfect amount.... that is after I took out 1/4 cup sugar out of the recipe in fear it would be to sweet and even after taking the quarter cup out it was still a little on the sweet side. All in all after a few twecks this recipe has potiental and turned out divine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amber

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2008
My husband cringed when I told him I wanted to make cranberry sauce for this upcoming Thanksgiving because he has HORRIBLE memories of cranberry sauce, past & present! OMG!!! This cranberry sauce is so tasty, delicious, tangy and easy to make! I rarely follow any cooking recipe to a "tee," so I did improvise a bit. I decreased the sugar to 1 cup and instead of bundling spices, I used a few pinches of nutmeg, a few pinches of cinnammon and an exotic mixture of dried allspice (with ginger, anise, clove, cinammon & nutmeg). I went VERY EASY (a spinkle or two) with this exotic allspice 'cause I didn't want the sauce to become too bitter. Also, the cranberries, sugar & water DO need to cook for approxiamtely 20 minutes to get a true sauce consistency. But ohhhhh so good! I cannot believe how tasty this recipe turned out, with a deep red color...so pretty, too! Cannot wait to serve this cranberry sauce to my family for Thanksgiving! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by toni lee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Providence, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Belleville, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2008
This was ok but nothing fabulous, I had to boil the cranberries a lot longer than suggested. The spices add a nice flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 175) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Tangerine Cherry Cranberry Sauce

See how to make a classic holiday cranberry sauce.

Cranberry Sauce I

This easy cranberry sauce is flavored with orange juice. Enjoy!

How to Make Cranberry Sauce

Learn how to make this quick, delicious recipe using whole cranberries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States