Holiday Cranberry Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2003
Recipe submitter, here, with a few new comments. You can make this recipe with Splenda* brand sweetener. It's great, and doesn't mess with your insulin or blood sugar level. (course, the pinapple juices will, but hey..) Making punch with the drippings isn't optional, just so you know. I'ts fabulous. Mix it with homemade lemonade for a summery treat! You can adjust the marshmallow content to your liking. If you and yours arent crazy about 'those' salads packed with marshmallows, cut back. They're not really good for ya anyhow. And do use real cream, don't desecrate this recipe with miraclewhip* or anything like that. The fat is not really bad for you, read the book: "The protein power lifeplan" for good basic nutrition research. You'll be glad you did. (Look around; does america seem to have 'nutrition' down pat?) Good luck with the salad! It's yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sy Chandell

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bandon, Oregon, USA
Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2004
Great salad for Christmas, everyone enjoyed it. Will make again soon! I did cut the sugar, and used fresh berries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MTYSON

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2004
I was unable to find either fresh or frozen cranberries (in February) in my grocery store. But I wanted to try this salad. I substituted a 1 pound bag of tart frozen cherries and followed the rest of the directions (omitting the nuts as my family requested). It turned out wonderfully! Just in time for Valentine's Day and Presidents Day when cherries are so popular. I put a small bowl of coarsely chopped walnuts on the table for anyone who wished to add the crunch of nuts. This was a hit. I have added it to my keepers. Thanks Chandell!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2003
We've had a very similar recipe in the family for years. It's easy and delicious and a perfect addition to Thanksgiving dinner. We usually use 1 cup of sugar instead of 2 cups, and it tastes great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2005
I USED 1 CUP & 3/4'S OF SUGAR..........ANF THAT WAS PERFECT....IT IS A VERY DELICIOUS SALAD!! IT WILL BE ADDED TO MY RECIPE LIST FOR SURE. IF YOU LIKE CRANBERRIES YOU WILL LOVE THIS SALAD!!!! EVEN IF YOU DONT IT'S SO TANGY SWEET GOOD!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2003
Great Recipe! Fast and Easy! I wanted something tart and tangy for Thanksgiving and I got it! I had to use dried cranberries as the store was all out of fresh and even that worked great! Also, the walnuts provide an interesting texture for your mouth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2005
awesome! just like my grandma's!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hardrockgirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yorba Linda, California, USA
Living In: Mechanicsville, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2008
This was wonderful - so much better than jello-based salads! My store was out of cranberries, so I used 12 ounces of frozen mixed berries, and it turned out fantastic! Wonderful!! This will become a holiday staple at our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2008
I used only about a cup of sugar with my cranberries and it was sweet enough. I also added some halved red grapes and skipped the nuts (allergies). I think the crushed pineapple really adds to this recipe....it was very yummy and decadent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fourpiesmama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Alpharetta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2006
This is the same recipe as Christmas Cranberry salad, except that one ses drained pineapple. I love this salad. I buy cranberries when they are in season and freeze so I will have them. I only use 1 cup sugar and usually leave out the marshmallows. I've made it with out the nuts, but it is so much better with nuts! Only use real whipping cream(unsweetened-not cool whip!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BB34

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Holiday Chicken Salad

The cranberries provide the seasonal punch to this tasty salad.

Cranberry Salad II

This salad is bursting with fruit and nuts, and is a great holiday side dish.

Cranberry and Cilantro Quinoa Salad

See how to make a quinoa salad with dried cranberries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States