Holiday Cranberry-Pomegranate Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
I love this recipe, although I've changed it slightly. I use the juice from one pomegranate, rather than the seeds and replace the cinnamon sticks with a little grated nutmeg. For the pomegranate juice you can either buy it bottled or smash the pomegranate seeds up with a reasonably large mortar and pestle. The real skill in this recipe is getting the correct amount of ground cloves. Add a little at a time and taste. Finally for best results make this sauce a couple of weeks in advance and allow it to mature in the fridge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2013
I found this recipe many years ago and it has become a tradition in our house at Thanksgiving. My whole family loves it, including my kids who look forward to it. My favorite part of the recipe is the ground cloves and cinnamon. The spices add so much flavor and smell so good while cooking! The pomegranate adds texture and a little crunch. If you are looking for something bland or mild, this is not the recipe for you. If you are looking for something bold and packed full of flavor, you will love it! Thank you for posting this fabulous recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2013
so the pomegranate seeds never really got soft but I think that's my fault. Really hindered the final product.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Huff1371

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Stuarts Draft, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2012
My husband and I have only ever had cranberry sauce from a can. Yuck. This year we wanted to make our own and give it a real shot. We found a basic recipe and went to do our shopping. We saw the pomegranates and looked at each other, clearly having the same idea. When we got back home I did the good ole google search and found this recipe. I just got done making it for Turkey day tomorrow and holy cow! It is phenomenal! We enjoy the flavor of cinnamon and clove, so it worked perfectly for us. If I could have, I would have given this a 10!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashley Putnam

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hadley, Michigan, USA
Living In: Montrose, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2012
Go ahead and double this recipe, since it's sure to be polished off. I left out the cloves and used half the sugar for a sweet-tart sauce in which all the flavors really shine without being overpowered by the spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2011
This cranberry sauce is the bomb! I have never been a great fan of cranberry sauce (but I always eat it with turkey), however, I was scooping this up and eating with a spoon all day. My immediate family does enjoy pomegranate, and even those extended and skeptical guys ended up commenting on how good this was. Hands down, this is the best, and is so good I made another batch just to eat (by itself, like dessert) the week after thanksgiving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by carwile2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gainesboro, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2011
This is our new "traditional" sauce! love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LissaKatt
Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2011
awesome and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HereComesGrammie

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Nokesville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
This is the very best cranberry sauce I have ever had. Well worth the effort of deseeding the pomegranate. Left cinnamon sticks in overnight and made just as recipe specified. Will use every Thanksgiving!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2010
A favorite recipe! Sometimes I add mandrin oranges and/or a chapped apple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Chef John's Mango Cranberry Sauce

See how to make mango cranberry sauce with a secret kick.

Tangerine Cherry Cranberry Sauce

See how to make a classic holiday cranberry sauce.

Cranberry Sauce

Make this easy, crowd-pleasing cranberry sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States