Holiday Cranberry Applesauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2008
This was so easy to make. I sliced, pealed and cored my apples, and after they were cooked the first 15 min or so took my immersion blender to it. It has the consistancy of applesauce with a very wonderful unique flavor. The red hots gave a sweetness without a "spicey" cinnamon flavor. I bottled it and gave it a "bath". Jars sealed nice and I can't wait to share it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2010
Best applesauce I've ever made. Quick & easy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
I made this recipe for thanksgiving and everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2009
I have three daughters and I can never get them to eat cranberry sauce on Thanksgiving. I made this for a big dinner, 15 people, I tripled the recipe, and it was completely gone. I served it in a divided server with regular cranberry sauce on the other side and no one ate the regular kind. I will add this to my yearly dinner. Got several requests for the recipe and was happy to give it out!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2007
This is the best applesauce I've ever eaten! I halved the recipe and used 2 Sonya apples and 1 Braeburn, cranapple juice, and added 2 tablespoons honey. I DID peel the apples, and it took about 30 minutes for them to cook to tender. I put the apples and juice in a blender for a few seconds and the resulting sauce was such a beautiful rosy color. It is sweet and spicy and I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GRANNYLOOHOO

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Bixby, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Magnolia, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2004
This was the first time I made a big holiday dinner myself. I used a cranberry theme and this recipe fit in perfectly. It was a big hit with all of my guests.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2005
I found that 6 medium apples was about 3 lb. I used half Jonagold apples and half grannysmith. I didn't like the bits of peel from the green apples; I might peel all the apples next time and then not use the food processor (just cut them in small pieces and cook then down). If you "process until smooth" you can end up with the consistancy of baby food; I would rather process for a couple seconds and have some applesauce texture left. The cinnamon flavor and red color is nice and makes this a special apple sauce. I also liked the "Sauteed Apples" recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2005
I made this for Christmas last year, and everyone LOVED it. They have alread requested it for this year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Chef4Six
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2008
What a beautiful bright pink color this applesauce has! At first I didn't want to try this recipe - I was not interested in adding "sugar/candies" to a healthy desert. But then I realized I was probably going to add some sugar to a regular applesauce recipe. I liked this one - because I wanted the cinnamon taste, but not the brown color cinnamon lends to the apples. I (surprisingly)couldn't find red hots - so I used a big box of Hot Tamales. I used a whole Fruit Punch Juice box instead of the cranberry cocktail, and I peeled the apples. I cooked it on medium-low for about 1/2 hour-45 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef4Six

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Monsey, New York, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
this is a nice healthy dish. the textured surprised me. I might go with a heavier sauce or straight out red pasta sauce next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Mango Cranberry Sauce

See how to make mango cranberry sauce with a secret kick.

Fresh Cranberry Relish

This no-cook sauce is like a delicious seasonal fruit salad.

Tangerine Cherry Cranberry Sauce

See how to make a classic holiday cranberry sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States