Holiday Chicken Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2003
Very good chicken salad and easily adaptable if you want to add in additional ingredients (halved grapes, toasted pecans, sunflower seeds...etc etc). Simple and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
549 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2003
Using ideas from previous reviewers, I added several dashes of poultry seasoning and garlic powder to the mayo mixture. Instead of 1 1/2 cups dried cranberries, I used 1/2 cup dried cranberries, 1/2 cup dried cherries, and about 1 cup of halved seedless green grapes. Omitted the green bell pepper since I don't care for it. Outstanding!! Huge hit at the covered-dish party I brought it to. Hubby loved it also!! I don't believe it serves 12 as listed, unless you make small sandwiches. I served it on lettuce leaves and it perhaps served 6 to 8.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
401 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2005
This is a wonderful chicken salad recipe. I was looking for something close to Arby's chicken salad and this was it. I omitted the green pepper and added chopped apples and sliced grapes. I highly recommend giving this recipe a shot. I'm glad I did!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
382 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hazleton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2003
I'm on a chicken salad binge.There are many great recipes for it on this side, but this one is almost perfect. It tends to be a little bland, but the addition of poultry seasoning, garlic powder to the mayo and some minced red onion makes it superb.Thanks Elaine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
265 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2002
I've made this twice now. It's good right on the same day it's made, however, it's excellent on day two or three. Give the flavors a chance to meld together. Beautiful on a croissant sandwich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
209 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2007
Really good! Love the craisins & blend of flavors. Used mayo/miracle whip combo. Used red bell pepper, because I had one. Used leftover rotisserie chicken (shredded). Toasted pecans. This is a great recipe. Don't leave anything out--everything adds to the overall flavor! Be brave! I was, & I was not disappointed. Neither was my family. Everyone stood around in the kitchen eating it on crackers! Will be making again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
143 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2002
This was an enormous hit at our Christmas progressive dinner-I served these as sandwiches on Hawaiian rolls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
112 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2002
This is very good. I served it out croissants and my guests loved it. My husband said that maybe less cranberries next time and he is a cranberry lover! I toated the pecans beofre adding them to the mix, this is an important step I think. Thanks for a great recipe, I'll be using it again on Mothers Day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
100 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Simi Valley, California, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2002
I subsituted raisins (grapes sound good, too) for the cranberries, left out the bell pepper and served it on raisin bread like a local restaurant does. We loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
81 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2011
Great salad that's not just for Holidays! This is fruity and crunchy plus it's a great way to use up some leftover grilled chicken that I hand on hand. I LOVE dried cranberries so this chicken salad was right up my alley. I chopped up the chicken and opted to leave out the green pepper as well as the paprika. I chopped up a mix of Granny Smith and Red Delicious apple and added that in it's place. I mixed the dressing in a separate bowl before folding it into the chicken and other ingredients. For the dressing I used Hellman's light mayo and cut it with a bit of reduced fat sour cream. I also used half curry powder and half seasoning salt, for this salad I felt the curry powder just added that little extra something. I let this set in the fridge for a few hours, and after sneaking a few bites - WOW, what a wonderful combination of flavors! This was so good on whole grain bread. Thanks for a delicious recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,054) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Holiday Chicken Salad

The cranberries provide the seasonal punch to this tasty salad.

Becky’s Chicken Salad

Discover the secret ingredient that gives this chicken salad a sweet lift.

Fruity Curry Chicken Salad

See how to make a tasty curry chicken salad with lots of healthy fruit.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States