Holiday Chicken Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2003
Very good chicken salad and easily adaptable if you want to add in additional ingredients (halved grapes, toasted pecans, sunflower seeds...etc etc). Simple and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
582 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2003
Using ideas from previous reviewers, I added several dashes of poultry seasoning and garlic powder to the mayo mixture. Instead of 1 1/2 cups dried cranberries, I used 1/2 cup dried cranberries, 1/2 cup dried cherries, and about 1 cup of halved seedless green grapes. Omitted the green bell pepper since I don't care for it. Outstanding!! Huge hit at the covered-dish party I brought it to. Hubby loved it also!! I don't believe it serves 12 as listed, unless you make small sandwiches. I served it on lettuce leaves and it perhaps served 6 to 8.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
435 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2005
This is a wonderful chicken salad recipe. I was looking for something close to Arby's chicken salad and this was it. I omitted the green pepper and added chopped apples and sliced grapes. I highly recommend giving this recipe a shot. I'm glad I did!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
419 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hazleton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2003
I'm on a chicken salad binge.There are many great recipes for it on this side, but this one is almost perfect. It tends to be a little bland, but the addition of poultry seasoning, garlic powder to the mayo and some minced red onion makes it superb.Thanks Elaine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
276 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2002
I've made this twice now. It's good right on the same day it's made, however, it's excellent on day two or three. Give the flavors a chance to meld together. Beautiful on a croissant sandwich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
214 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2007
Really good! Love the craisins & blend of flavors. Used mayo/miracle whip combo. Used red bell pepper, because I had one. Used leftover rotisserie chicken (shredded). Toasted pecans. This is a great recipe. Don't leave anything out--everything adds to the overall flavor! Be brave! I was, & I was not disappointed. Neither was my family. Everyone stood around in the kitchen eating it on crackers! Will be making again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
150 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2002
This was an enormous hit at our Christmas progressive dinner-I served these as sandwiches on Hawaiian rolls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
116 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2002
This is very good. I served it out croissants and my guests loved it. My husband said that maybe less cranberries next time and he is a cranberry lover! I toated the pecans beofre adding them to the mix, this is an important step I think. Thanks for a great recipe, I'll be using it again on Mothers Day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
102 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Simi Valley, California, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2002
I subsituted raisins (grapes sound good, too) for the cranberries, left out the bell pepper and served it on raisin bread like a local restaurant does. We loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
84 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2011
Great salad that's not just for Holidays! This is fruity and crunchy plus it's a great way to use up some leftover grilled chicken that I hand on hand. I LOVE dried cranberries so this chicken salad was right up my alley. I chopped up the chicken and opted to leave out the green pepper as well as the paprika. I chopped up a mix of Granny Smith and Red Delicious apple and added that in it's place. I mixed the dressing in a separate bowl before folding it into the chicken and other ingredients. For the dressing I used Hellman's light mayo and cut it with a bit of reduced fat sour cream. I also used half curry powder and half seasoning salt, for this salad I felt the curry powder just added that little extra something. I let this set in the fridge for a few hours, and after sneaking a few bites - WOW, what a wonderful combination of flavors! This was so good on whole grain bread. Thanks for a delicious recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,111) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Holiday Chicken Salad

The cranberries provide the seasonal punch to this tasty salad.

Becky’s Chicken Salad

Discover the secret ingredient that gives this chicken salad a sweet lift.

Fruity Curry Chicken Salad

See how to make a tasty curry chicken salad with lots of healthy fruit.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States