Holiday Chicken Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2013
Excellent chicken salad. After reading reviews, I made the salad with the following minor adjustments: used cherry flavored Craisins in place of regular dried cranberries and reduced amount to one cup (one bag). Soaked them in hot tap water for 15 mins as one reviewer suggested. Also candied the chopped pecans cooking them with a half cup of sugar stirring constantly until sugar melted and coated the pecans as suggested by another reviewer. Lastly added a dash of poultry seasoning and garlic powder to the mayo as a third reviewer suggested. Used all other ingredients as listed. Mayo used was Dukes as it contains no sugar and there was enough sweetness coming from the Craisins and candied pecans. Refrigerated for two and a half hours before serving. Great blend of favors and crunch. Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2013
This was good. I used a few sprinkles of regular salt and dried minced onion because I didn't have any green onions. Also, I used half mayo and half regular plain yogurt; I added a bit more because with all the crunchy items, I thought it tasted better creamier. I love chicken salad with cranberries in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2013
This recipe is super simple and tasty. The paprika makes this chicken salad so flavorful! I like a little more flavor, so I added a dash of onion and garlic powder. I didn't have dried cranberries so I substituted red grapes, quartered. Toasting the pecans in a pan for a couple minutes make the nuts more flavorful. Also, I had frozen chicken breast that i cooked in crock-pot seasoned with salt and pepper. It was surprisingly moist. I will make this again and next time with dried cranberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2013
When I get asked for recipes and seconds, I do not hesitate 5 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2013
I am in love with this recipe!! I added 1/2 tsp garlic powder to the mayo mixture, 1 cup red grapes and 1 large apple. So delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2013
I substituted grapes for the cranberries for a more summery salad. Very good chicken salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Key West, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2013
This recipe is awesome. I've made it many times, twice following the recipe exactly. I find that it's much better to omit the celery and substitute with red bell pepper. I also don't use mayonnaise because I hate it and use greek yogurt instead. I also put about three green onions in it. Soo yummy :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lacie Crocker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Henderson, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2013
My absolute favorite chicken salad recipe. Not just for the holidays!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Aurora, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2013
This is delicious! One thing I like to add is mustard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary Elizabeth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Jonesborough, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2013
Wow, this is so good. I didn't change a thing. Ate it on a pretzel bun with lettuce and it was fabulous. Sweet and crunchy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 1,115) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Holiday Chicken Salad

The cranberries provide the seasonal punch to this tasty salad.

Becky’s Chicken Salad

Discover the secret ingredient that gives this chicken salad a sweet lift.

Fruity Curry Chicken Salad

See how to make a tasty curry chicken salad with lots of healthy fruit.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States