Holiday Chicken Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: May 8, 2013
I have made this salad several times, and it is very tasty. Great to make a large batch and eat for lunch during the busy work week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wonderwoman19

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Excelsior, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2013
Awesome recipe. I will never buy it again. Keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrslove

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2013
Not bad. Rather than purchase frozen entrees for this week's lunches, I whipped up a batch of this to get me thru the week. While tasty, I'm not sure this will become my "go-to" chicken salad recipe. Admittedly, I made a couple of changes and in the interest of awarding a fair review, I'd like to give this another try following Emma's directions exactly. I made three changes, two of which I'd make again and one that I wouldn't. I didn't feel this called for enough spice, so I added 1/4 t poultry seasoning and a 1/2 t garlic powder. I'd recommend this enhancement. My final change was substituting candied pecans for plain pecans. In retrospect, I would have BY FAR preferred the taste of toasted pecans in this. NOTE: One reviewer suggested "plumping" her cranberries in hot tap water. Although a good idea (I do this sometimes myself), it is totally unnecessary here. I'd also like to note that this is GREAT served fresh, but not nearly as good days later. The pecans lose their crunch and the dried cranberries turn to mush (but I think that's because I plumped mine first...). The type of bread you choose to serve this on also makes ALL the difference. I served my sandwich on raisin bread (as one reviewer said her local diner does) and wish I wouldn't have. :( Whole wheat bread or a flaky croissant would have been a much better choice, IMHO. Thanks for sharing, your neat recipe, Emma. This will be making an appearance at this year's holiday luncheon for sure! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: May 1, 2013
Very good as is, but next time I'll experiment with more spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2013
I thought this recipe was ok, but with all the positive reviews I thought it would blow me away a bit more. I made it almost exactly as written except that I added a bit of garlic powder as suggested by one reviewer. Well, I felt that the whole thing was a bit salty, so that may have been the wrong decision for my tastes (or leave out some/all of the seasoning salt).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2013
My family loved this and I received many compliments. It's easy to make. I used a rotisserie chicken and substituted half a green apple for the green pepper. Other than that I followed the recipe and it was delicious. I recommend making ahead and letting the flavors meld. I served it on croissants with a fruit salad and chips. I will make this again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2013
add walnuts, almonds and dried cranberries
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2013
Delicious, love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2013
Made this for on the go lunches. We all loved it. The cranberries were a nice addition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HotCocoa27

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2013
Absolutely LOVE this chicken salad! I've made it three times and each time is better. I didn't change a single thing. I've used rotisserie chicken from the grocery store just because I think it tastes the best. Its wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 1,073) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Holiday Chicken Salad

The cranberries provide the seasonal punch to this tasty salad.

Becky’s Chicken Salad

Discover the secret ingredient that gives this chicken salad a sweet lift.

Fruity Curry Chicken Salad

See how to make a tasty curry chicken salad with lots of healthy fruit.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States