Holiday Chicken Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2013
I made this for the first time several years ago. I shared some of it with a co-worker. She tells me that this is the only way she likes chicken salad now. I can't say anything bad about it at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SarahE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Flushing, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2013
Wonderful recipe. The only different thing I did was add halved green grapes. Served on romaine lettuce. Also served with cantaloupe and strawberries on side. Milly in Buckeye, AZ.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2013
Excellent, with revisions. Made as directed, I agree that there is way too much "crunch" and not enough dressing. The "crunches" all need to be reduced by 1/2. Also, the dressing was a little bland. As a base, this is a solid recipe, but it's made great by adding in more spices (e.g., mustard, curry powder).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2013
My daughter and I had this for lunch today and absolutely LOVED it! We did however add more mayo and I made candied walnuts instead of the pecans. Great recipe, thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2013
Absolutely AMAZING!! Looking for something quick to make and discovered this. I loved it and my husband loved it too. Already asking me to make it again. Works well for lunch or dinner. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2013
My Go-To chicken salad recipe. My husband doesn't like celery so I usually omit it. I often don't have the nuts either, but it's still great without! I like to make this with the leftovers after I roast a whole chicken. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2013
Seconds please! This is a fabulous festive dish but it's too good for just the holidays. It's perfect for a refreshing summer meal and since it comes together in no time it's great for busy weeknights. This deceptively simple recipe stands out because it's just a good balance of flavors. And did I mention how darn easy this was? I boiled thinly-sliced chicken breasts and by the time I cut the veggies and mixed the rest it was practically done. I don't think it needs to chill beforehand, but I'm not picky. To make it a little healthier I used low-sodium seasoning salt, light mayo and cut the mayo to half. It was on the dry side so if you aren't as concerned about calories I'd say add more, but it still was really delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sggeiger

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2013
I really enjoy chicken salads with cranberries so i decided to try this one. I made minor adjustments: added half the salt, grated carrots and chopped some cabbage and one lime. It was awesome. I like how the cabbage adds some texture and it doesn't get soggy like lettuce does.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2013
My first ever Chicken Salad and it came out great. My wife loved it. Started with a store bought Roasted Chicken, tore it apart and cut it up. Like others, I added a little to it - 1/4 tsp Rotisserie Chicken flavoring, and 1/2 tsp Garlic Powder. I didn't have any pecans, but did have fresh Hazelnuts we got from the farmers market. I'm thinking we need to get some nice crackers to go with it, serve it as an Hors d'oeuvre.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chris

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2013
Excellent chicken salad. After reading reviews, I made the salad with the following minor adjustments: used cherry flavored Craisins in place of regular dried cranberries and reduced amount to one cup (one bag). Soaked them in hot tap water for 15 mins as one reviewer suggested. Also candied the chopped pecans cooking them with a half cup of sugar stirring constantly until sugar melted and coated the pecans as suggested by another reviewer. Lastly added a dash of poultry seasoning and garlic powder to the mayo as a third reviewer suggested. Used all other ingredients as listed. Mayo used was Dukes as it contains no sugar and there was enough sweetness coming from the Craisins and candied pecans. Refrigerated for two and a half hours before serving. Great blend of favors and crunch. Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 1,054) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Holiday Chicken Salad

The cranberries provide the seasonal punch to this tasty salad.

Becky’s Chicken Salad

Discover the secret ingredient that gives this chicken salad a sweet lift.

Fruity Curry Chicken Salad

See how to make a tasty curry chicken salad with lots of healthy fruit.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States