Holiday Chicken Pot Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2001
I like this a lot! I cut the recipe in half and it was more than enough for 2 adults and 4 kids. I assumed the topping would be dumplings but when I mixed according to recipe the "batter" on top was very thin. At first I thought there was a mistake, but after cooking I could see that the milk, margarine and flour topping is what makes it taste like real pot pie instead of scalloped potatoes. It is a real satisfying dish. For the full effect you could put a crust over the top. Also the recipe does not specify covered or uncovered, I did not cover and it was just right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2001
I must have done something horribly wrong when I assembled this dish. Was the batter that is poured on top supposed to be discernible after the dish cames out of the oven? Even though I don't think I did it exactly correctly, it had a wonderful flavor. My husband and I agreed that it would make a great homemade chicken soup if I replaced the potatoes with egg noodles and add a bit of cream to hit. I will do that with the leftovers. Also, I would also cook my potatoes and carrots a bit as only the smaller pieces were cooked enough. Thanks for a real comfort food, whetherit be pie or soup. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2003
The filling was great, but the "crust" was not impressive. Baking these in individual sized pot pie containers allows the potatoes and carrots to cook. Probably won't make this again. If I do, I would use an actual crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2002
As is, I would rate 4 stars, however, I can never just make a plain recipe like this. I added red bell pepper, mushrooms, celery, green chilies and 2 cloves of garlic. I cooked it in a large casarole dish for 1 hr. and 15 min. and it was wonderful. Now, I would give it 5 stars. JS
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2007
I hate having to say this, but if I could give this no stars i would. The "crust" was non existent. Still a runny mess after over an hour in the oven and the potatoes were still crunchy. I will never make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Birmingham, Alabama, USA
Living In: Eureka, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2003
I was very disappointed with this dish. The crust was nothing to write home about, and the instructions should have directed to parboil the potatoes and carrots. Even in my convection oven, the vegetables were hard as rocks after the full hour and 15 minutes. It came out as a big soupy mess. Will search for a better pie recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Johnsburg, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2001
This is the best chicken pot pie we have ever eaten! I cook ingredients a day ahead, asemble pie and bake a day later! Feeds a crowd. Just wonderful for Sunday dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2004
Eh. There was nothing great about this. The flavor was okay, but the crust just didn't turn out good at all. I'll stick with a regular crust and my old recipe next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2003
It tastes great but you have to use a bigger dish than a 3 qt. I will probably split into 3 nine inch pie plates and freeze two for next time. Also the potatoes and carrots must be pre boiled. I love how easy the crust was. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbia, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2009
YUM! I would have taken a picture to upload, but we couldn't quit eating it long enough to get a picture! I followed some suggestions from other reviews and put a bisquick crust on top. I actually made a mistake and forgot the onions, so I put cheddar french fried onions on top. It was a nice touch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joanne Fisher

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Breesport, New York, USA
Living In: Valdosta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Pot Pie IX

See how to make a delicious one-pot meal.

Slow Cooker Chicken Pot Pie Stew

This easy, ingenious method makes delicious pot pie like a slow-simmered stew.

Chicken Pot Pie I

This chicken pot pie tastes like you did a ton of work--but it's easy as pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States