Holiday Chicken Pot Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2001
Delicious recipe. I added Italian seasoning and pepper only. I used the low fat Campbells soups and skim milk to make it less calories. I cut the recipe in half and it was more than enough!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Donna Hartman Chapman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Syracuse, New York, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2001
I like this a lot! I cut the recipe in half and it was more than enough for 2 adults and 4 kids. I assumed the topping would be dumplings but when I mixed according to recipe the "batter" on top was very thin. At first I thought there was a mistake, but after cooking I could see that the milk, margarine and flour topping is what makes it taste like real pot pie instead of scalloped potatoes. It is a real satisfying dish. For the full effect you could put a crust over the top. Also the recipe does not specify covered or uncovered, I did not cover and it was just right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2001
It's worth the time it takes to prepare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Garland, Texas, USA
Living In: Rowlett, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2001
This is the best chicken pot pie we have ever eaten! I cook ingredients a day ahead, asemble pie and bake a day later! Feeds a crowd. Just wonderful for Sunday dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2001
I must have done something horribly wrong when I assembled this dish. Was the batter that is poured on top supposed to be discernible after the dish cames out of the oven? Even though I don't think I did it exactly correctly, it had a wonderful flavor. My husband and I agreed that it would make a great homemade chicken soup if I replaced the potatoes with egg noodles and add a bit of cream to hit. I will do that with the leftovers. Also, I would also cook my potatoes and carrots a bit as only the smaller pieces were cooked enough. Thanks for a real comfort food, whetherit be pie or soup. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2001
I tried this recipe with turkey breasts and cut the recipe in half. It was delicious. In the future, I might try different crusts. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2001
Awesome ! ! ! Although I was hesitant when I placed this in front of my kids and they all said it looked gross!!! But then they tasted it (because that's a rule in our house!) and all three of them ate every last bite on their plates! Even *the dad* had seconds !!! I added some corn to this as well plus cut the recipe in 1/2 and have enough for another meal ! Thanks for a great recipe Casey! It's terrific !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2001
I used broccoli instead of peas, and 2 cream of chicken, one cream of mushroom, and one cream of celery soup. I used campbells 98% fat free soups, skim milk and light butter. My husband and 6 yr old loved it. My daughter is another story, but if it's not macaroni and cheese, she won't eat it. So she doesn't count!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2002
As is, I would rate 4 stars, however, I can never just make a plain recipe like this. I added red bell pepper, mushrooms, celery, green chilies and 2 cloves of garlic. I cooked it in a large casarole dish for 1 hr. and 15 min. and it was wonderful. Now, I would give it 5 stars. JS
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2003
This is the best chicken pot pie I've ever had. It's a great recipe! You can add all your own favorite vegitables. I love this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GOTHAMCITY

Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Chicken Pot Pie IX

See how to make a delicious one-pot meal.

Slow Cooker Chicken Pot Pie Stew

This easy, ingenious method makes delicious pot pie like a slow-simmered stew.

Chicken Pot Pie I

This chicken pot pie tastes like you did a ton of work--but it's easy as pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States