Holiday Chicken Pot Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2001
Delicious recipe. I added Italian seasoning and pepper only. I used the low fat Campbells soups and skim milk to make it less calories. I cut the recipe in half and it was more than enough!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Donna Hartman Chapman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Syracuse, New York, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2001
I like this a lot! I cut the recipe in half and it was more than enough for 2 adults and 4 kids. I assumed the topping would be dumplings but when I mixed according to recipe the "batter" on top was very thin. At first I thought there was a mistake, but after cooking I could see that the milk, margarine and flour topping is what makes it taste like real pot pie instead of scalloped potatoes. It is a real satisfying dish. For the full effect you could put a crust over the top. Also the recipe does not specify covered or uncovered, I did not cover and it was just right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2001
It's worth the time it takes to prepare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Garland, Texas, USA
Living In: Rowlett, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2001
This is the best chicken pot pie we have ever eaten! I cook ingredients a day ahead, asemble pie and bake a day later! Feeds a crowd. Just wonderful for Sunday dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2001
I must have done something horribly wrong when I assembled this dish. Was the batter that is poured on top supposed to be discernible after the dish cames out of the oven? Even though I don't think I did it exactly correctly, it had a wonderful flavor. My husband and I agreed that it would make a great homemade chicken soup if I replaced the potatoes with egg noodles and add a bit of cream to hit. I will do that with the leftovers. Also, I would also cook my potatoes and carrots a bit as only the smaller pieces were cooked enough. Thanks for a real comfort food, whetherit be pie or soup. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2001
I tried this recipe with turkey breasts and cut the recipe in half. It was delicious. In the future, I might try different crusts. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2001
Awesome ! ! ! Although I was hesitant when I placed this in front of my kids and they all said it looked gross!!! But then they tasted it (because that's a rule in our house!) and all three of them ate every last bite on their plates! Even *the dad* had seconds !!! I added some corn to this as well plus cut the recipe in 1/2 and have enough for another meal ! Thanks for a great recipe Casey! It's terrific !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2001
I used broccoli instead of peas, and 2 cream of chicken, one cream of mushroom, and one cream of celery soup. I used campbells 98% fat free soups, skim milk and light butter. My husband and 6 yr old loved it. My daughter is another story, but if it's not macaroni and cheese, she won't eat it. So she doesn't count!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2002
As is, I would rate 4 stars, however, I can never just make a plain recipe like this. I added red bell pepper, mushrooms, celery, green chilies and 2 cloves of garlic. I cooked it in a large casarole dish for 1 hr. and 15 min. and it was wonderful. Now, I would give it 5 stars. JS
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2003
This is the best chicken pot pie I've ever had. It's a great recipe! You can add all your own favorite vegitables. I love this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GOTHAMCITY

Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Chicken Pot Pie IX

See how to make a delicious one-pot meal.

Slow Cooker Chicken Pot Pie Stew

This easy, ingenious method makes delicious pot pie like a slow-simmered stew.

Chicken Pot Pie I

This chicken pot pie tastes like you did a ton of work--but it's easy as pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States