Holiday Chicken Pot Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2003
The filling was great, but the "crust" was not impressive. Baking these in individual sized pot pie containers allows the potatoes and carrots to cook. Probably won't make this again. If I do, I would use an actual crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2003
It tastes great but you have to use a bigger dish than a 3 qt. I will probably split into 3 nine inch pie plates and freeze two for next time. Also the potatoes and carrots must be pre boiled. I love how easy the crust was. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbia, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2003
I was very disappointed with this dish. The crust was nothing to write home about, and the instructions should have directed to parboil the potatoes and carrots. Even in my convection oven, the vegetables were hard as rocks after the full hour and 15 minutes. It came out as a big soupy mess. Will search for a better pie recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Johnsburg, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2003
Unfortunately, I was not pleased with this recipe. It tasted bland and there was really no crust, which is the best part of chicken pot pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2003
I followed the recipe exactly, but this dish didn't turn out at all!! It was soupy, runny, and didn't look or taste anything like any other chicken pot pie I have ever tasted. This was so runny it actually ran out of the casserole dishes into the oven and all over my countertop. Will never make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pretty_in_pink_pa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Shippensburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2003
This is the best chicken pot pie I've ever had. It's a great recipe! You can add all your own favorite vegitables. I love this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GOTHAMCITY
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2002
As is, I would rate 4 stars, however, I can never just make a plain recipe like this. I added red bell pepper, mushrooms, celery, green chilies and 2 cloves of garlic. I cooked it in a large casarole dish for 1 hr. and 15 min. and it was wonderful. Now, I would give it 5 stars. JS
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2001
I used broccoli instead of peas, and 2 cream of chicken, one cream of mushroom, and one cream of celery soup. I used campbells 98% fat free soups, skim milk and light butter. My husband and 6 yr old loved it. My daughter is another story, but if it's not macaroni and cheese, she won't eat it. So she doesn't count!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2001
Awesome ! ! ! Although I was hesitant when I placed this in front of my kids and they all said it looked gross!!! But then they tasted it (because that's a rule in our house!) and all three of them ate every last bite on their plates! Even *the dad* had seconds !!! I added some corn to this as well plus cut the recipe in 1/2 and have enough for another meal ! Thanks for a great recipe Casey! It's terrific !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2001
I tried this recipe with turkey breasts and cut the recipe in half. It was delicious. In the future, I might try different crusts. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Pot Pie IX

See how to make a delicious one-pot meal.

Slow Cooker Chicken Pot Pie Stew

This easy, ingenious method makes delicious pot pie like a slow-simmered stew.

Chicken Pot Pie I

This chicken pot pie tastes like you did a ton of work--but it's easy as pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States