Holiday Cheese Spread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2002
This is an awesome spread recipe! The flavors meld beautifully.I made half the recipe exactly as it was called for, and the other half I left out the olives, substituted celery seed for celery salt, garlic powder for garlic salt,and added a teaspoon of white wine for my friends with salt restricted diets. They loved it, and I loved both the original version and the lower salt one.PS- I used Dijon mustard for the prepared mustard. Both versions will delight your tastebuds. Many Thanks, Jennifer. This won't be reserved just for holidays at my house! This is definately going on my New Years Eve Buffet this year! I'll probably use it to fill my mini cream puffs or puff pastries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2003
PLEASE DISREGARD THE NEGATIVE COMMENTS AND LOW RATINGS ON THIS RECIPE!! I made this over the weekend for a football party that had 22 people at it and asked them to rate it from a 1 to 5. EVERYBODY rated this a 5 and most of them said they would give it a 10 if they could. We tried it on crackers, all kinds of veggies (Beleive me, they weren't picky!) and when I had ran out of all the veggies, they were scooping it out by the spoonfuls and eating it right out of their spoon. It wasn't strictly all men either. By the time the evening had ended, everybody had asked me why I hadn't made a double batch. I didn't change a thing when I made this recipe and I won't in the future either!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2009
I absolutely LOVE this recipe! It is the exact one my grandma used to make every Christmas. Definitely use celery seed and garlic powder instead of their saltier counterparts. And I use 1/4 tsp of cayenne and it is perfect. This makes a HUGE cheeseball, so I make it into four little balls and freeze them and take them out if company's coming. They are even better after they've been frozen. :-) OH, and I use old Cheddar. Can't lose.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Prairie Epicurian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2003
i would cut back the cheyanne pepper in the recipe. makes a huge ball - easily makes two.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2003
I really wanted to like this, but both me and my guests felt it was rather boring.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Whittier, California, USA
Living In: Cypress, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2002
So many distinct flavors, and they each stand out individually even when blended completely! This is a delicious spread, and perfect for celery boats, as another reviewer noted. My family was surprised by the spicy kick but heartily came back for more and more! We had it on crackers and on celery, and gobbled up a whole bowl (I made half the recipe and it made a large bowlful). I recommend this spread for those who like their hors d'oeuvres rather spicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BUFFALO GAL

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Otisco, New York, USA
Living In: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2002
Only one word describes this spread. FABULOUS!! I used it to stuff celery with, great with crackers. Have had many requests for this recipe since I made it. THANK YOU SO MUCH JENNIFER FOR SHARING!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2002
This was a waste of time and money. I think it tasted like potted meat AFTER it was finished. Too bad, the recipe looked real good....but it wasn't!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oceanside, California, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2008
This was way too salty, probably with an adjustment to the seasonings it would rate higher.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CATHYADKINS

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Everly, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Kentucky Beer Cheese Spread

See how to make a Cheddar cheese spread with a unique flat-beer finish.

Easy Ham and Cheese Appetizer Sandwiches

Ham and melted Swiss combine with a tangy spread on soft party rolls.

Easy Cheese Ball II

See how to make a pecan-studded cheese ball with Cheddar and cream cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States