Holiday Butter Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2000
This the 2nd year that I have made these cookies. They are just great. I double the recipe and roll them into balls, flatten them and sprinkle them with colored sugar. They are the best tea/christmas cookies. We love them!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2003
These are really good butter cookies and the icing really compliments them. But I think there is a typo in the description. These make really good cookies cut-outs. The shapes stay the same and the cookies do not change size when baking so you can cram a whole bunch on the cookie sheet. But it does not hold a STAMP well. I will make these every Christmas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2007
Delicious! Great cut-out cookies that are fun for the kids to help make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2008
I will be making these next month for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kyladee

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Henderson, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2008
This was the first time I made butter cookies with my kids. They were Great! Not to sweet and just the right amount of butter flavor. I let my kids cut out stars for the holidays and decorate them. Easy! I will make them again and again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2009
I loved these cookies. They are not too sweet so they taste great with icing and marachino cherries on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2009
This was my first time making butter cookies and wanted a fun Christmas Day activity to do with my boys. I doubled the recipe but followed the recipe exactly as is. To my dismay I didn't have access to a mixer so I attempted to make them entirely by hand. From creaming the butter to mixing in the flour it was definitely work. Following the baking time as listed yielded cookies slightly too doughy for my taste, so I up-ed the baking time to get the crunch/softness that I preferred. The flavor was tasty and subtle - perfect for icing. I will make again & again in the future... but definitely with a mixer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wendybird

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2010
Great cookies! Perfect butter cookies with just the right mild buttery flavor, especially if using frosting. But they're good alone as well, and not bland at all! This recipe is a keeper. I also switched vanilla for the almond (nut allergies in the family). Doubled the recipe and made cut out hearts for Valentine's Day. They held their shape beautifully. I did have to bake them quite a bit longer though, almost 20 min, in order to get them lightly golden around the bottom edge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2013
I have made this recipe for holidays for a couple years now. I also make it as a special treat for my husband, he LOVES these cookies, calling them the best he has ever had. I follow the recipe exactly and they keep perfect shape while baking making them easy to decorate afterwards. These are loved in my home!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kimberlyb

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Ohio, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2010
these cookies are so yummy! i only gave it a four because they dont have much flavor but theyr really chewy and a perfect snack
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Butter Rich Spritz Butter Cookies

See how to make rich buttery spritz cookies.

Butter Cookies II

See how to make a delicious butter cookie that’s truly versatile.

Oatmeal Peanut Butter Cookies III

They taste just like the Girl Scout cookies with the peanut butter filling.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States