Holiday Butter Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2003
These are really good butter cookies and the icing really compliments them. But I think there is a typo in the description. These make really good cookies cut-outs. The shapes stay the same and the cookies do not change size when baking so you can cram a whole bunch on the cookie sheet. But it does not hold a STAMP well. I will make these every Christmas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2000
This the 2nd year that I have made these cookies. They are just great. I double the recipe and roll them into balls, flatten them and sprinkle them with colored sugar. They are the best tea/christmas cookies. We love them!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2010
Great cookies! Perfect butter cookies with just the right mild buttery flavor, especially if using frosting. But they're good alone as well, and not bland at all! This recipe is a keeper. I also switched vanilla for the almond (nut allergies in the family). Doubled the recipe and made cut out hearts for Valentine's Day. They held their shape beautifully. I did have to bake them quite a bit longer though, almost 20 min, in order to get them lightly golden around the bottom edge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2009
This was my first time making butter cookies and wanted a fun Christmas Day activity to do with my boys. I doubled the recipe but followed the recipe exactly as is. To my dismay I didn't have access to a mixer so I attempted to make them entirely by hand. From creaming the butter to mixing in the flour it was definitely work. Following the baking time as listed yielded cookies slightly too doughy for my taste, so I up-ed the baking time to get the crunch/softness that I preferred. The flavor was tasty and subtle - perfect for icing. I will make again & again in the future... but definitely with a mixer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wendybird

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2005
I added some flaked coconut and vanilla essence, and a teeny bit more flour. The cookies came out excellent, and I ate 3 straight away.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
Okay, we just finished making these and my husband said I owe him two sticks of butter. These were very bland. Not enough sugar or extract. I know you can add to this, looks like most people added sugar or something. But at least these should TASTE good all by themselves, and sadly....they don't. They don't cut out well and we ended up using a press to shape and cut with a knife. Very disappointing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2007
Delicious! Great cut-out cookies that are fun for the kids to help make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2001
did not hold my stamp shape. followed exactly no luck
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2008
This was the first time I made butter cookies with my kids. They were Great! Not to sweet and just the right amount of butter flavor. I let my kids cut out stars for the holidays and decorate them. Easy! I will make them again and again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2010
these cookies are so yummy! i only gave it a four because they dont have much flavor but theyr really chewy and a perfect snack
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Butter Rich Spritz Butter Cookies

See how to make rich buttery spritz cookies.

Butter Cookies II

See how to make a delicious butter cookie that’s truly versatile.

Oatmeal Peanut Butter Cookies III

They taste just like the Girl Scout cookies with the peanut butter filling.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States