Holiday Brie en Croute Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2009
So yummy! Used this as an appetizer on Thanksgiving. Even though my parents have told me that they don't like brie, they really enjoyed this. Made as is without almonds (I don't like them). I do recommend baking this in a dish that you will serve it with. It's impossible to transfer it when it's done cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
180 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2008
soften the cranberries in orange juice instead of hot water, its delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
122 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2008
I've been making Brie en Croute for years now and it tastes better every time. My favorite combination is walnut, brown sugar and craisins. The slight tart flavor of the craisins work great with the sweetness of the brown sugar. Thanks for the idea of using apricot jam. Went with another reader's idea and served with sliced apples. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
96 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda Ricardo

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2007
Awesome recipe! I was a little skeptical of letting it cool for 1 hour, but it was still warm! It was very buttery tasting. I used pan-roasted slivered almonds instead of the sliced almonds for a slightly different crunch (and it was what I had). Very good for taking to a party. Serve with dried french bread slices you can make in the oven ahead of time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
74 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2008
I've made this too many times to count in many different ways and my favorite is using apricot jam or preserves, Craisins (you don't need to soak them...use them as they are!) lightly toasted sliced almonds and away you go! Excellent every time and travels well too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by squeaky6

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bayonne, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Cinnaminson, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2008
This is my favorite way to eat brie (so far)! The sweet and slightly tangy flavors of the raspberry and cranberry are a perfect fit for the pungent flavor of the brie. I was in a hurry to eat it and didn't wait the recommended hour, and that was a mistake since the melted cheese then leaked out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2008
For Christmas Eve I made this using the apricot preserves. Absolutely delicious. I did not change a thing. I used the highest quality of preserve I could find at my store. The brie size wasn't exact so I just adjusted the preserves and almonds. Everyone loved it. Was my first time baking brie en croute. It was simple and easy and looked like it was bought from an expensive bakery. Very impressive appetizer in taste and appearance!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Betty T

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Taylor, Michigan, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2008
This was one of many items at a party held at my open house. It was so incredibly impressive - it looks beautiful on display and the taste is divine. The nice thing is that brie invites many flavors so you can experiment. This time we used orange juice soaked dried cranberries (thanks Annika) and walnuts. I imagine a Caribbean chutney, or a fig/nut combo would also be quite lovely. With frozen pastry, this really doesn't take much time or effort but the bang for the buck is outstanding!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2008
I made this for my annual cookie exchange, and used my homemade peach jam instead of the apricot preserves. It was SO yummy! I couldn't stop eating it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2008
This appetizer was the hit of my party today. I didn't think I liked brie but in this recipe it was incredible. Alot of my friends are cheese fans and that is why I chose to make it. They loved it and it was totally gone! I got requests for the recipe and I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 172) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Holiday Brie en Croute

See how to make this special holiday appetizer.

Sausage & Stuffing Criss-Cross Pastry

See how to make an elegant stuffed puff pastry main dish!

Apple Pie Spirals

These tasty apple morsels are an elegant alternative to traditional pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States