Holiday Brie en Croute Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2012
nice when fresh but didn't look so nice the next day
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by meeky

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stratford, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
I tried this Brie and it was absolutly delicious. Everyone loved it and requested the recipe. I will make this again , next time using strawberry jam. I used apricot this time around as it was all I had....Yummy.... thank you for this recipe... Corrine in Sunny Florida
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chichi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Daytona Beach, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
A huge hit at my New Years Eve party. Looks very fancy, everyone was so impressed. I used raspberry preserves and it was so good, I will definitely make this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2011
Awesome! I used dried cherries, cherry preserves and sliced almonds. I used an 8oz. wheel of brie. Doing some research on Brie en Croute, I toasted the almonds in a pan with 2 TBLS salted butter and a TBLS of dijon mustard. I sliced the brie in half and put the preserves, cherries and toasted almonds between the two halves and left a little out to place on top of the brie as well. Since I was using a smaller wheel of brie, I trimmed the edges of the puff pastry a bit before I folded it over the top, sealed the edges with egg wash and flipped it over into a glass pie pan to bake (I used the puff pastry trimmings to make a bow on top). I baked it for the full time and let it sit for 45 minutes before serving - it was still gooey and warm. There was about 1/3 left and I place it in a tupperware container in the fridge and reheated it three days later in the microwave at 50% power - still tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin Kate

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Manitowoc, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2011
Excellent but needs more cranberries. I softened mine a bit. The best part about this was getting a cranberry in every bite. Make sure you lay out a small cheese knife and cut into it when serving. I think a lot of my guests were intimidated by it and didn't know what to do with it. I really liked this with celery sticks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Shawano, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2011
I have made this multiple times for various occasions during the Holidays and it's always been a huge hit. I highly recommend apricot preserves, and cutting the outside off of the brie before baking. The first couple of times I made it, the pastry didn't come out looking very pretty, but taking more time to be careful to ensure it was sealed and cooled properly, it turned out beautifully moving forward.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LIZZY9VOLT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ogden, Utah, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2011
Very easy but very impressive looking and tasty. If you don't have puff pastry, canned crescent rolls work well. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jackson, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Ashland City, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2011
Easy, delish, impressive, its a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2011
DELICIOUS
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2011
Amazing! What a huge hit as an appetizer before a big Christmas dinner. It was a huge appetizer that was very, very simple to make, but extremely impressive to all my guests (I was asked 4 times if I made it myself). I can't wait to make this again for our NYE party....but I will let it rest for about 30 minutes before cutting into it (did not do this the first time around).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kelcampbell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smiths Falls, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Kemptville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 169) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Holiday Brie en Croute

See how to make this special holiday appetizer.

Sausage & Stuffing Criss-Cross Pastry

See how to make an elegant stuffed puff pastry main dish!

Apple Pie Spirals

These tasty apple morsels are an elegant alternative to traditional pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States