Holiday Brie en Croute Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2009
I made this for Christmas Eve, and it was wonderful. I followed the recipe exactly as written, using the apricot preserves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Illinois, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
Made this the first time yesterday for a party and it was a hit! I used two wedges placed together to make a rectangle since I couldn't find the round brie, and dressed it like a present with ribbon and bow made from pastry scraps. One thing, though, maybe others can help with -- I found the pastry very difficult to cut through with a straight knife without squishing everything. Would a serrated knife work better next time? Also the pastry stuck to the lightly floured counter top after I rolled it out. Any tips?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2009
A HIT at work, pot-luck! I had to print out recipes for everyone... My only change was I softened the cranberry's in orange juice and I did use pecans. Next time I will take the pasty out of the package before defrosting, mine was still frozen and did not roll out well. The shape was square not round... But no one knew this but me! I would like to try it with mulit-berry jam next time... A must try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ukiah, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2009
I made this for a party and everyone raved about it. I used a black cherry preserve, along with the cranberries and almonds. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ann R

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2009
I used the raspberry preserves and a double-sized brie wheel - the result was nice and tangy; only issue was that, even after sitting an hour, the cheese was still quite melted and oozed out onto the plate. This could be related to the large size...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Solipsis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2009
Excellent-this was by far the favorite at my party. Softening the cranberries in orange juice was really tasty and the flavors were perfect. I used a 2 lb wheel of brie, 1 1/2 pkg of puff pastry and a full jar( 10oz) of apricot preserves. Next time I will remove the top rind of cheese because I found the taste of the rind bitter and did not like the texture of the rind.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2009
My favorite appetizer for the holidays. Everyone loves it. Made exactly as the recipe states. I will try to serve with sliced apples this year. Thanks for the idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Chandler, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2009
Wonderful! Took this to a party & all loved it. The only changes I made were using pecans (instead of almonds) and orange (marmalade) preserves instead of apricot. I'll make this again soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2009
Everyone loved this served at a French dinner party. I substituted salted pecans and raspberry preserves and nixed the cranberries. Perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bethany

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chardon, Ohio, USA
Living In: Newton, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2009
Everyone seemed to like it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 172) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Holiday Brie en Croute

See how to make this special holiday appetizer.

Sausage & Stuffing Criss-Cross Pastry

See how to make an elegant stuffed puff pastry main dish!

Apple Pie Spirals

These tasty apple morsels are an elegant alternative to traditional pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States