Hoisin Pork Stir Fry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by SweetBasil
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2010
Very tasty, but spicy. Used up some strips of leftover pork tenderloin. Served over steamed white rice. Next time I wil sub a pinch of red pepper flake with the cayenne pepper.l
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SweetBasil

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Liberty Hill, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2010
This was AWESOME- definitely a keeper! I didn't have Cayenne pepper so I sub'd red pepper flakes and added broccoli like pictured. I also shave the carrots with a peeler to give it that authentic texture. Much better than take-out and much healthier to boot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2011
Fantastic!! Whole family loved this; will definitely be making it regularly. The only changes I made were to add a small amount of chicken broth to loosen the sauce, and I subbed 1 tsp of chilli pepper paste for the cayenne pepper. My family likes the baby corn so I added a can of that as well. It was fine without any changes and worthy of the whole 5 stars as is. Will try it with chicken breast next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2010
Used chicken instead of pork; otherwise followed recipe exactly and it came out great! Was easy to make and 3 out of 4 of my family liked it, so it gets 4 stars. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Kinnelon, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Farmingville, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by amandak23k
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2010
Not bad, kind of sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amandak23k

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2011
Very very spicy and I only used 1/2 cayenne pepper. I love hoisin but I think there is just too much of it in this recipe. I added snap peas since they were in season. I will not make this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kaye Spaude

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Menominee, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2011
We liked this a lot. I tried to make it just like the recipe but got halfway through and realized I didn't have everything, so made a few substitutions. I didn't have water chestnuts so I added regular onion and a stalk of celery. I added salt and pepper to the pork since the recipe doesn't have salt. I didn't have cloves of garlic, so I added powdered garlic. (I just sprinkled it all over the pork. I didn't notice garlic flavor - I don't recommend this). Finally, I didn't even have cayenne so I added a tsp of ground chili paste. I didn't taste the spice, it wasn't enough. Despite my trying to make this fail, it was still great! The "sauce" is more a sticky coating of hoisin on everything. Hoisin is sweet, so if you don't like sweet, don't make this! If you love Hoisin, this is PERFECT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Cedar Rapids, Iowa, USA
Living In: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2010
very tasty and easy to prepare
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2012
very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2012
Wonderful flavor. I added broccoli and sliced mushrooms. Also used Chinese chili sauce instead of cayenne. Served over brown rice
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cabinluvn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jackson, Michigan, USA
Living In: Bangor, Wisconsin, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet, Spicy Stir Fry with Chicken & Broccoli

A simple chicken-and-veggie stir-fry with sweet and spicy flavors.

Chef John’s Hoisin Barbecue Pork Ribs

A simple, Asian-inspired marinade, dry rub, and basting sauce for pork ribs.

Orange Chicken Stir Fry

Tender pieces of chicken cook in a garlic and orange sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States