Hoisin Pork Stir Fry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by SweetBasil
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2010
Very tasty, but spicy. Used up some strips of leftover pork tenderloin. Served over steamed white rice. Next time I wil sub a pinch of red pepper flake with the cayenne pepper.l
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SweetBasil

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Liberty Hill, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2010
This was AWESOME- definitely a keeper! I didn't have Cayenne pepper so I sub'd red pepper flakes and added broccoli like pictured. I also shave the carrots with a peeler to give it that authentic texture. Much better than take-out and much healthier to boot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2010
very tasty and easy to prepare
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by amandak23k
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2010
Not bad, kind of sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amandak23k

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2010
Used chicken instead of pork; otherwise followed recipe exactly and it came out great! Was easy to make and 3 out of 4 of my family liked it, so it gets 4 stars. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Kinnelon, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Farmingville, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2011
Fantastic!! Whole family loved this; will definitely be making it regularly. The only changes I made were to add a small amount of chicken broth to loosen the sauce, and I subbed 1 tsp of chilli pepper paste for the cayenne pepper. My family likes the baby corn so I added a can of that as well. It was fine without any changes and worthy of the whole 5 stars as is. Will try it with chicken breast next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2011
Very very spicy and I only used 1/2 cayenne pepper. I love hoisin but I think there is just too much of it in this recipe. I added snap peas since they were in season. I will not make this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kaye Spaude

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Menominee, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2011
We liked this a lot. I tried to make it just like the recipe but got halfway through and realized I didn't have everything, so made a few substitutions. I didn't have water chestnuts so I added regular onion and a stalk of celery. I added salt and pepper to the pork since the recipe doesn't have salt. I didn't have cloves of garlic, so I added powdered garlic. (I just sprinkled it all over the pork. I didn't notice garlic flavor - I don't recommend this). Finally, I didn't even have cayenne so I added a tsp of ground chili paste. I didn't taste the spice, it wasn't enough. Despite my trying to make this fail, it was still great! The "sauce" is more a sticky coating of hoisin on everything. Hoisin is sweet, so if you don't like sweet, don't make this! If you love Hoisin, this is PERFECT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Cedar Rapids, Iowa, USA
Living In: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
Really delicious. Will make this again. My subs: Used apple cider vinegar, Stevia, ground ginger and frozen stir fry veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2012
Wonderful flavor. I added broccoli and sliced mushrooms. Also used Chinese chili sauce instead of cayenne. Served over brown rice
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cabinluvn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jackson, Michigan, USA
Living In: Bangor, Wisconsin, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

Related Videos

Sweet, Spicy Stir Fry with Chicken & Broccoli

A simple chicken-and-veggie stir-fry with sweet and spicy flavors.

Chef John’s Hoisin Barbecue Pork Ribs

A simple, Asian-inspired marinade, dry rub, and basting sauce for pork ribs.

Orange Chicken Stir Fry

Tender pieces of chicken cook in a garlic and orange sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States