Hoisin-Ginger Beef Skewers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2009
i made this meal last night and my roommates both think it was the best dish i've ever cooked them! i probably tripled the amount of ginger and garlic which i think the result paid off. in between beef i added small mushrooms, yellow and red peppers so they make a better presentation and it's healthier. do not omit sesame oil because it adds a great flavour. i also sprinkled raw sesame seeds on top before sending the skewers onto the grill, it turned out perfect, will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MH

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2009
Yummy, even my pickiest kid loved them. The marinade seemed to really soften up the steak as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2009
I actually found this recipe when I was looking for something to do with a pound of ground beef. I first saw another recipe for skewered meatballs so I was inspired and basically just took the marinade added an egg, some panko breadcrumbs and combined it all. I served the meatballs that I sprinkled toasted sesame seeds onto over steamed rice with a veggie stir fry and a bit of hoisin drizzled on top...yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MamaMia72

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukie, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2009
I also was looking for something to do with ground pork and turkey which I use quite often as a duo. I added more garlic, some leeks and just a touch of sage. Delectable. Believe it or not, sage and hoisin meld well. My partner said it was the best combo of pork/turkey yet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kellie 'n Ricki

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2009
Wow, this was super tasty! I had a bunch of hoisin sauce left in my fridge and was looking for a recipe to use it up. Now I will be buying more so I can continue to make this dish. The marinade was really tasty, but not overkill - it was a really nice mix of flavors that went perfect with the flank steak. And the steak turned out really tender (I marinated for five hours). I didn't use sesame oil since I had none on hand, otherwise I didn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CC♥'s2bake
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2010
These were really good. Next time I will set aside some of the marinade for dipping. Left out the salt and they were fine without it. I would not leave out the sesame oil, though. It adds a lot of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2010
These are wonderful but a little too sweet. Next time I would cut back on the sugar and honey. We will be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2010
I made these as Shish-kabobs along with Shrimp Kabobs, for a surf and turf on a skewer dinner, when family came for a visit. I marinated the beef cubes for two days, and threaded the meat separate from assorted Veggies, and Shrimp ( as all cook at a different rate ) I should have started the veggies first and had to finish them in the Micro....but the beef was a Hit with everyone. I used a sirloin rather than flank however, wanting the tenderness to be the best for my company. I will use this marinade again, and might make kabobs more often now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kate56

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Holland, Michigan, USA
Living In: Canaan Valley, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2010
DELICIOUS!!! This will become a family regular! The kids thought it was a pinch spicy, but their taste buds need to become stronger and more tolerant of heat, so I will continue making as is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindsay

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Whittier, California, USA
Living In: Reno, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2011
The smell of this marinate alone is a 5!! Made it for my dad for fathers day and he said at first bite, "This is a 5 for sure!!" Turned out wonderful and and to try this marninate on EVERYTHING!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ives11

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Puyallup, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Beef Bulgogi

Traditional Korean beef marinated in a sweet and garlicky soy sauce.

Grilled Korean-Style Beef Short Ribs

See how to make Korean-style grilled short ribs.

Beerbecue Beef Flank Steak

See how to make a beer-based barbeque sauce for juicy grilled flank steak.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States