Hoisin-Ginger Beef Skewers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2011
This recipe is fantastic. Probably the best Asian style marinade I've ever had. I've made this twice so far, and both times turn out great. The only change I made the second time around was I cut back on the lime juice just a little bit to 1 1/2 tablespoons because the first time it stood out a little more than I wanted. I made this with 3 pounds of flank steak, cut into strips. Make sure you cut across the grain. I took the strips and made double the marinade, placed it cold in a vacuum marinator. I ran it a full marinate cycle, then transferred it to a sealed container and let is sit for 12 hours. This recipe makes a fantastic appetizer. It's a little involved to prep, but that can be done well in advance of company being over, then just throw these on the grill for 3-4 minutes a side, and your done. Thanks for this great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2011
I used 1 medium to large top round steak sliced very thin against the grain. I marinated the steak for 24 hours and decided to make a 2nd batch of sauce for dipping and because my boyfriend likes sauce on his rice. Only needed a minute or two on each side. I served with the japanese zucchini and onions and it was a great, quick weeknight meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AnnasBananas

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Soup Loving Nicole
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2011
Made as written and I have no complaints. I know a lot of people do not care for the taste of sesame oil but it plays a big part in the overall flavor of this dish. I do not recommend leaving it out or substituting something else for it. I personally like it and was impressed with this recipe. It was packed full of flavor and reminded me of beef jerky except warm, tender, and juicy instead. Thanks for sharing Pat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Soup Loving Nicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: West Fork, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2011
Great recipe! Due to personal preference I used extra garlic, ginger and sriracha and it was fantastic! I let it marinade overnight and it made the steak SO tender. I would recomend making extra marinade to simmer till warm and use as a dipping sauce. I served this with rice and steamed broccoli and my husband has already requested I put this meal into the "favorites" section. This would be great threaded onto skewers with veggies or on short skewers to serve as an appetizer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alexis

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Orland, California, USA
Living In: Red Bluff, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by OkinawanPrincess
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2011
Anytime there is a mixture of soy sauce, honey, ginger, garlic and sesame, I know I will be in for a treat! But adding in hoisin sauce gave this marinade a wonderful Asian twist. I left out the chile-garlic sauce due to family's request for a milder flavor. But I did add in a smidgen of crushed red pepper flakes. I added Hawaiian rock salt and fresh black pepper. I thinly sliced the 1.25 pounds of flank steak against the grain. I placed the meat along with the marinade in a large one gallon ziplock bag and marinated for 8 hors. Grilling the beef did not take long at all. While grilling I noticed the wonderful aroma from the meats! I also got the nice brown sear on both sides, which I like a lot. The meat was tender, juicy and sooo flavorful...Mmm. The marinate soaked right into the meat tenderizing it all those hours. It just smells wonderful, looks appeatizing and tastes delicious! We ate the beef skewers in silence licking all the marinades off of our fingers. My family ate this up so fast, I don't think they noticed the red pepper flakes I snuck in the marinade! This paired perfectly with, "Sesame Noodle Salad," from this site. The sesame noodles are delicious too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OkinawanPrincess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2011
Excelent apps
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chefhenry

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Levittown, Toa Baja, Puerto Rico
Living In: Santo Domingo, Distrito Nacional, Dominican Republic
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2011
Yum!!! I just made this for dinner and it was great. I was lazy and just simply marinated a flank steak for 1 1/2 days and then grilled. AWESOME!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2011
Great taste! I only sprinkled in some red pepper so it wouldn't be to hot for my son and we all really enjoyed this for dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kimkim

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2011
Very yummy and easy. I didn't have time to marinate besides spreading it over the beef - still tasted great. I added green pepper and red onion slices. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2011
The smell of this marinate alone is a 5!! Made it for my dad for fathers day and he said at first bite, "This is a 5 for sure!!" Turned out wonderful and and to try this marninate on EVERYTHING!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ives11

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Puyallup, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Beef Bulgogi

Traditional Korean beef marinated in a sweet and garlicky soy sauce.

Grilled Korean-Style Beef Short Ribs

See how to make Korean-style grilled short ribs.

Beerbecue Beef Flank Steak

See how to make a beer-based barbeque sauce for juicy grilled flank steak.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States