Hoisin-Ginger Beef Skewers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2012
This was well-received all around. It provides a robust, delicious Asian flavor without being salty from soy sauce. I doubled the chili sauce and the garlic, and added bell peppers, onions and mushrooms to the skewers before grilling. One thing to note: I used a bit less meat than the recipe called for (1.5lb instead of 2lb) because it's what I had on hand, but it made a *lot* less than 20 skewers. Even with the addition of veg, I still only got 10 skewers, each with 3 bite-size chunks of meat and 3 pieces of each veggie. If you want this recipe to produce a main dish and don't want to eat 4 of them, don't expect to stretch the meat to 20 skewers without the addition of veg, even if you use a full 2lbs of meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Blackfoot, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2012
These were excellent! Used sirloin steak cubed and put on skewers w/veggies. Excellent recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brooksy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2012
This beef is SO delicious and tender!! This is the best luck I've ever had with flank steak.. I didn't know to cut it against the grain and at an angle. I served it at an Asian-themed cocktail party with this sauce: http://allrecipes.com/recipe/oriental-dipping-sauce/detail.aspx and Lean Cuisine Thai-Style Chicken Spring rolls, broccoli-slaw (crunchier than cole slaw, doesn't taste like broccoli) with Asian-sesame dressing, and Lemon Drops and Cosmos made with Grey Goose (drink mixes from Cost Plus are outstanding). My guests were ooing and aahing. I LOVE the recipes from All Recipes.com, they are always so GREAT!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Boulder, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2011
Make sure you use a good cut of beef
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2011
These are AWESOME! Made them as an appetizer for a party. They were gone in no time! Making them as a main dish next time. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2011
This is good but a little too sweet for us as written. I added a little more sriracha to compensate. While I love asian dishes this was good but did not wow me. I let it marinade for about 8 hours. I think if I try it again I would let it marinade overnight and use a little less honey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Occasional Cooker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2011
This dish was delicious! I changed a few things. First I only used about five drops of Sriacha instead of a whole teaspoon as it would have been too hot for my little ones. Also I only used one pound of beef and I did not grill it. I just cooked the marinated beef in a skillet on the stove. I served it over brown rice and with a side salad called "Korean Salad with Sesame Dressing" from this site. Great meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2011
This recipe is delicious!! It tasted SO much better the second day when I reheated. I didn't use fresh ginger - I used powdered and had same result. I cut the meat a little to thick so next time I will cut into smaller strips before threading on to the skewers. I wish I had set some sauce aside but they really didn't need it. Just personal preference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2011
I made these with chicken because we didn't have any steak in the freezer. I only marinated them for an hour and they were delicious! Next time I will marinate all day long and reserve some of the marinade aside for dipping. We ate these for dinner with chinese buffet green beans, but they would be a great appetizer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENNY-REDS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Glenmoore, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2011
This recipe is fantastic. Probably the best Asian style marinade I've ever had. I've made this twice so far, and both times turn out great. The only change I made the second time around was I cut back on the lime juice just a little bit to 1 1/2 tablespoons because the first time it stood out a little more than I wanted. I made this with 3 pounds of flank steak, cut into strips. Make sure you cut across the grain. I took the strips and made double the marinade, placed it cold in a vacuum marinator. I ran it a full marinate cycle, then transferred it to a sealed container and let is sit for 12 hours. This recipe makes a fantastic appetizer. It's a little involved to prep, but that can be done well in advance of company being over, then just throw these on the grill for 3-4 minutes a side, and your done. Thanks for this great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Bulgogi

Traditional Korean beef marinated in a sweet and garlicky soy sauce.

Grilled Korean-Style Beef Short Ribs

See how to make Korean-style grilled short ribs.

How to Make Beef Wellington

Make the classic filet mignon and mushroom dish named after Duke Wellington.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States