Hogs and Kisses Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2011
Addictingly good! I actually snapped the bacon into bite-size pieces before throwing them into the bowl of melted chocolate. If the chocolate is too thick, add a splash of milk. I also baked my bacon over a rack placed over a foil lined baking sheet until really crispy. I put them onto a paper towel to soak up the rest of the grease & waited for them to cool before throwing them into the bowl of melted chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
I gave this recipe 5 stars because it gave me not only a delicious little conversation piece, it taught me something about "candy making" Thanks for sharing! Hopefully the recipients will enjoy them .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 7SlotFever

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yreka, California, USA
Living In: Scotts Hill, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2011
Though it was tasty it was a bit much. And you have to eat them fresh or the bacon looses its crisp and it is soggy bacon dipped in chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Orem, Utah, USA
Living In: Port Orange, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2011
Tastes alot better then it sounds :p
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nickjc

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
These were a HIT at our Christmas morning brunch...what a great conversation piece!! They were also very tasty too...despite what you may think. I liken them to the preztel/chocolate combo...Excellent though...really yummy salty chocolate combo!! I used semi sweet choc chips...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisamarie78

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Porterville, California, USA
Living In: Tulare, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2010
I've been buying chocolate covered bacon at Marini's Candy Shops in Santa Cruz California, OMG it's a decadent treat so completely delicious and completely wicked, but worth a try now and then. I've made it at home too, it's relatively easy and the main trick is to have REALLY crispy bacon, blot it well after frying and before dipping or brushing on chocolate, and I've found thin-sliced bacon works best, thick-sliced tends to get tough after cooling. At Marini's they make it with both milk chocolate and also DARK chocolate, WOW! Now THAT'S a party in your mouth!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by parrotheadTink

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Santa Paula, California, USA
Living In: Vacaville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2010
i did this recipie in my foods 1 class at school, i found it very interesting, but would not do it again, because of how fatining it is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SB
Reviewed: May 4, 2010
These were different from any dessert I have ever tried, I like the salty and sweet flavors together. The chocolate was way to thick, so I added 2-4 tablespoons of milk to it to help it melt and make it easier to dip the bacon in. Thanks for sharing the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SB
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2009
I thought because I adore chocolate AND bacon that I would love this savory/sweet treat but it was not the recipe I hoped it would be. A variation on savory/sweet bacon in to fry your bacon very slow and before it's done, drain the fat and then add (approx. 1/2 cup per lb bacon) honey and continue cooking until the bacon is well done. You want to cook this slow so the bacon doesn't crisp up but stays chewy. Great for breakfast or on top of salads.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MosesmomS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA
Living In: Eldorado, Illinois, USA
Photo by Ellen Crow
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2009
A few additional notes on this recipe, which I submitted: Make sure the bacon is cooked until crisp; tugging on a piece of chewy, chocolate covered bacon is messy and not very appetizing! Also, the melted chocolate is sometimes a little on the thick side. If that happens to you, just use your fork to paint the chocolate onto the bacon. I hope you enjoy it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ellen Crow

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Florissant, Missouri, USA


 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cookie Balls

See the trick to making incredibly easy cookie balls.

Buckeyes I

See how to make an impressive but simple chocolate and peanut butter candy.

Chocolate Covered Potato Chips

Crispy, salty potato chips dunked in chocolate. Who’d even try to eat just one?

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States