Hog Maw Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2013
One night we were craving it and found this variant and decided to give it a try. It was godaweful. We called his mother and she gave us theirs. I highly recommend NOT cooking the potatoes first. Mix them uncooked with everything else. Leave on a low heat in the oven (about 240 degrees) for about 5-6 hours. This gives everything enough time to simmer slowly. It also leaves time for the pig to cook thoroughly. Another variation is if you can't come across a pig (or the thought disgusts you), you can wrap it up in a tin foil-like log. Leave a little water on the bottom (with or without the pig) so nothing sticks to the pan and the juices tenderize the meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by DonnaFloyd
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2012
My mother in law made pig stomach for us and I have not had it since she passed 11 years ago. So I need to know basics such as oven temperature an bake time. I sautéed onion, celery, diced potatoes and corn for ten minutes, stuffed the stomach, used the steel pins from my MIL and baked for 1.5 hours. It was fantastic! Almost as good as "moms!"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DonnaFloyd

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lititz, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Lewes, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2011
My husband and I grew up on this as we are both from York, PA. Yummy! Recipe defers from family to family. I omit the cabbage because we never made it that way. I also use half ground beef and half bulk pork sausage and some diced onion. I don't pre-boil the potatoes, just mix it all together, stuff the maw (pig stomach), sew the opening closed and bake. The maw is no different than a sausage casing, but does impart a wonderful flavor to the filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DebbyJean

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: York, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2010
The top of the line as an example of good old fashioned Pennsylvania German country cooking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waleska, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by inounvme
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2010
I enjoyed this because I like hog maws, heck I like it all tail, ears, feet you get the picture. However it was a tough sell to the rest of the family. I stuffed it with sausage, onions, cabbage, potato and carrots.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by inounvme

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lansdowne, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2008
wow never though i'd see this recipe in print. I'm from PA and my family are pa dutch and i grew up on this. We make it a little differently, we make it with cabbage, sausage, onion and carrot (for color) dice all the veggies and mix with the sausage. then stuff the stomache and bake for several hours until a sharp knife slides through easily. (we don't precook any of the veggies) add salt and pepper to taste as well. wonderful food my whole family loves!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Carlisle, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2007
I grew up in Maryland on this recipe and just about my favorite meal. However, my family does not like the cabbage in it. We prefer a nice cole slaw on the side. It's all a matter of personal taste. Hence, only the 3 stars because of the cabbage, and, I love cabbage, just not in this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Smithsburg, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2007
I grew up in PA but I'm in the military now. Every time I go home, I ask my grandmother to make this for me. As a kid, I refused to eat it because of the name (Pig's Stomach) but the melt-in-your-mouth taste makes you ask for a second helping. If you are from the PA Dutch area or adventurous, this is a definite keeper. Try it and I'm sure you will love it. We omit the salt when cooking it because it can be added later. Serve with Shoo-fly Pie and you are cooking like the PA Dutch. Thanks for posting this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carlisle, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Colonial Heights, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2006
Thank you! My husband is PA Dutch(I'm not) and has been asking me to make this for a long time. I finally got the courage and this is good stuff! Not an easy recipe to find so thanks again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2006
Wow! Not your typical recipe, but it is unbelievably good! You just have to get past the thought. I'm adventurous in the kitchen so I just had to try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

How to Make Pulled Pork

Make this succulent barbequed pork dish in your oven.

Chef John's Smothered Pork Chops

See how to make simple pan-fried pork chops smothered in deliciousness.

Philly Cheesesteak Sandwich with Garlic Mayo

A tangy garlic mayo is the key to these easy steak sandwiches.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States