Hockey Pucks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2008
I make these every Christmas and Halloween! I use a fairly big dollop of peanut butter right in the middle of the cracker and when I top it with the other cracker I smoosh them until the peanut butter is at the edges. I also use almond bark with a teaspoon of shortening, rather than chocolate chips. It microwaves great and the shortening makes it smooth and easy to dip. Another tip: Make sure that you get off every bit of excess chocolate or they will be sitting in a little puddle by the time they cool and won't be as attractive. One more thing: These are so easy to decorate! I always use holiday sprinkles, applied right after I dip them while the chocolate is still shiny. Alternatively, I put a little chocolate of a contrasting color (white chocolate if I dipped the cookies in milk chocolate, or vice versa) into a baggie and melt it in the microwave. Then I snip off just the barest corner and squeeze it back and forth over the cookies to make a nice pattern. OR I buy candy food coloring and turn the white almond bark whatever color I like! Hope these tips help someone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ABBA21

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
I make these every Christmas but for the life of me, I couldn't remember their other name. This is really cost-effective to make (especially when you coupon and get crackers, baking chips and peanut butter for cheap!) and it's also kid friendly. The flavor of these is almost like a Butterfinger. These always are the hit of any cookie tray and I always get asked for the recipe (and really, I've had people shocked when they find out really what's in it) so make sure you bring paper copies of the recipe. This bends to whatever kind of peanut butter you have, wether it's chunky or smooth, and whatever baking chips you have on hand. You don't have to have a double boiler, you can melt the chips in a microwave safe bowl 40 seconds at a time, stirring well at the end of every 40 seconds until it's the right consistancy. I recommend you use a name brand peanut butter if you can, only because with some cheaper peanut butters, they can get liquid-y and sometimes seperate and it's not pretty. This is also good with peanut butter/marshmallow fluff or peanut butter/Nutella. It really is super bendable and really fun to play with. Even adding a teaspoon of extract, like peppermint, to the melted chocolate is a whole other way to make it different. NOTE: You should guesstimate that it's one bag of chips per sleeve of crackers. That's how it usually works out for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2009
A trick I have discovered....put a stack of crackers spread out on a kitchen towel, then fill a pastry/icing bag with the peanut butter and squeeze a dollop of peanut butter on each cracker (the towel keeps them from scooting all over the counter), top with second cracker and dip. I also melt the chocolate in my electric fondue pot. Use low setting and it works great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Catherine Bockheim

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Randolph, New York, USA
Living In: Wellsboro, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2007
We have a recipe very similar to this.... only differences are we call ours Ritz Cookies, and use chocolate almond bark, white has been used too, but family likes the chocolate best. The almond bark is smoother, coats easier, and hardens nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Bedford, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2003
I've been making these for years with wonderful results. My family has comapred them to the Girl Scout Cookie Tag-a-longs. Supper easy to make and are especially special to recieve. You can even make them look more festive looking by drizzling some white chocolate on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Payson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2006
A favorite treat of my Brother In Law. Made some with peanut butter and vanilla almond bark, also some with Nutella and chocolate almond bark. The Nutella is my favorite! Will definitely make again. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2004
Oh my gosh!!! Being the wife of a hockey goalie, I couldn't resist making these because of the cute name and the ease of ingredients and preparation. What a treat!! These came out so good... whoever reviewed them before and said that they tasted like the Girl Scouts cookies Tagalongs, was right on the money! Thank you for such an easy and tasty recipe that will keep my hubby and boys smiling for a long time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2005
very tasty. I would like them to be more bite size. might try the mini Ritz Bitz sandwiches w/ pb next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2011
We always make these around Christmas time. We always use chocolate almond bark because the semi-sweet tastes too bitter/dark. So good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sarah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chaska, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Prior Lake, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
We use giant Cheez-Its and Almond BArk and thy taste just like Butterfinger candy bars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 95) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

World's Best Peanut Fudge

See how to make a rich-and-creamy peanut butter fudge.

Cream Cheese Mints

See how to make sweet peppermint treats that positively melt in your mouth.

Cookies Across America

See how you and your friends can decorate cookies for a good cause.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States