Hobo Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2007
My husband brought this recipe into the family, calling it Hobo Stew. He includes red meat at the bottom, usually sirloin, which he puts on the bottom and sprinkes steak dust over it. He then puts on the potatoes and carrots and drizzles melted butter over the top. Bakes it in the oven and it comes out incredible. This is def a 5 star recipe, and for vegetarians the meatless variety stated here would be great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2005
In terms of "camping food" this is terrific! I also added chopped up mushrooms, zucchini, and green pepper (with extra butter/seasoning salt to account for more veggies) and left out the sour cream. It was a great grilled vegetable medley over some white rice. If you're wrapping this in sheets of foil like I did, I'd make the wrapping atleast 3 layers thick because my first attempt got a little burnt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2005
This is a great recipe but I altered it a bit. No butter or sour cream and added a bit more onion(individual tastes) I also "package" it into individual servings. I add a couple strips of bacon to each. When its done, I put shredded cheddar cheese on top and let it cook a few minutes longer until cheese is melted. I also don't separate veggies. We just ate it like it was cooked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2006
oh my goodness this was great!!! I've made it both with and without carrots and even added tri-colored peppers. A very flexible recipe with virtually no clean up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fullerton, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2006
Amazing! this recipe is so easy and it tastes awesome! I like to add garlic to mine
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2006
I've been making this for a long time but without the carrots. If you like cabbage try cutting some up and laying it down first . Then the onions maybe some peppers garlic cloves butter and potatoes. fantastic!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2007
This was great. I did a sunstitute and used red onions instead of reg onions. i also added broccoli and instead of butter i used Grapeseed butter oil (just a few tsp) my kids loved it (even tho they picked out the onions) they ate everything else up. I served it is BBQ lime vinigerett chicken. deffinalty one to keep. Next time i will try with other veggies
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracy Massalski Ferrazza

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Alyson
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2007
Yummy yummy yummy! I used red potatoes and didn't add the carrots. Also I cooked the potatoes in the microwave for 3 mins after I chopped them just to speed the cooking time. I skipped the sour cream, I'm not a big fan of the stuff. The potatoes were soo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alyson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Hammondsport, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2007
These are VERY good! I make mine in a 350 degree oven. I cut the potatoes in slices, top with sliced onion, salt & pepper to taste and top with pats of butter....YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2007
Superb! I made this exactly as written and was not disappointed at all. I think the addition of corn or garlic would be good... if I ever wanted to mix it up a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Fondant Potatoes

Impressive, perfect potatoes with tender, creamy insides and crispy edges.

Fachamatta's Famous Potatoes

See the amazing story behind Joseph Crecca’s famous “Fachamatta Potatoes.”

Oven-Roasted Potatoes

See how to make easy oven-roasted potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States