Hobo Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2013
Yum! We had this every weekend as a kid! My family called them 'campfire pies'. My favorite are the ones with CHERRY filling! I always remembered how great they were but until this seeing this recipe, I forgot that they were made with bread. Also, if you're at Walmart & ask for a hobo pie toaster, I doubt you'll be successful. Try a Camp Iron or Pie Iron. It looks like 2 metal pieces of bread attached to a stick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Rochester, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2013
Best pizza using the pie maker is to use English muffins, you can butter bottom( gets it crispier like a true pizza) pizza sauce, mozzarella slices, pepperoni or what ever other meat or veggies you want to use, family loves these and say they are better than a Little Ceasar's pizza... Awsome tasting...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Richmond, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MariaTheSoaper
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2012
Great base recipe for hobo pies. We didn't have the "hobo pie toaster" referred to in the original recipe, we used a wonder bread "crustables" press to make the pie pockets. We used blueberry pie filling (our oldest son's request) and wrapped them in foil to cook on the coals. Worked out perfectly and SO GOOD. Next time I'm going to make a sugar butter to spread on the bread, to make a nice sweet glazed crust. Great camping staple instead of having the usual s'mores.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MariaTheSoaper

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: May 7, 2012
Kids love this! We make it whenever we camp as well as on a bonfire in the backyard now and then. I do however sprinkle them with powdered sugar before serving though. Cherry with chocolate chips, peanut butter chocolate and marshmallow is also really yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by calebsmom

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2012
Thank you Adica....You made me smile BIG when I read, "Hobo Pie". :) I flashed back to my childhood when I met a friend from the U.S.A. Her family would invite me to their campsite and it was there, that I tasted the wonderful " Hobo Pie". A very nice treat for families who camp. Can be made with any fruit pie filling plus for a snack make a Hobo Pizza-add tomato sauce, cheese, and whatever you like on pizza's. ENJOY!!! and thx again for the memories :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FlutterbyDesign

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sundridge, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2010
We love Hobo Pies! These are also great with blueberry or pizza fillings. I spray the pie iron with cooking spray first and it helps a lot. These are a camping staple with us!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2010
Any pie filling will work. Toasted cheese or ham and cheese is also good made this way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Quincy, Illinois, USA
Living In: Canton, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2010
We always called these Pudgy Pies. They are wonderful made with biscuit dough and filled with fresh raspberries or strawberries. Refrigerated biscuits would work well, too, I am sure. I have made them with biscuit dough, cinnamon sugar and raisins - great little coffee cakes. Whatever you call them , they are definitely a 5 star recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clarkdale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2010
Was not a fan. May do what others reviewed and try pizza ones next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Genesis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2010
We love these! Wheat bread works well, too. We sprinkle ours with sugar. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Apple Pie I

See how to make a simple, 5-star apple pie.

Dannon Oikos Key Lime Pie

Easy key lime pie with Greek-style yogurt bakes up fast!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States