Hobo Dinner Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2006
My whole family loved it! Easy clean up too! The only change I made from the original recipe was to follow another reviewers advice & add beefy onion soup mix to the ground beef before making the patties. We will definitely eat this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
80 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2002
Before shaping the ground beef into patties, in addition to the salt and pepper, add onion salt, garlic salt and worcestershire sauce--not quite so bland after that. Also, you could use the pre-packaged baby carrots your kids already munch on instead of the whole large carrots to save time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2002
We love this recipe! The only thing I changed was mixing the ground beef with onion soup mix for more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2002
I really liked this dish. I did change the recipe a little bit though. I seasoned the beef with Johnny's seasoning salt and I used garlic powder instead of garlic salt. I also used baby carrots and put celery in it and an extra onion. I sprinkled Johnny's seasoning salt over the top of everything. It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2008
My dad used to make these for us when we were kids. I now use turkey burger and then season it with a garlic powder, salt and pepper mix. I then add approximately a 1/2 a can of cream of mushroom soup per hobo and then the onions, carrots, celery and potatoes - wrap it up in foil, put it in the oven and bake as directed in this recipe - my hubby loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2002
My mother-in-law has made these for years. She makes them in individual foil packets and sprinkles them liberally with Worcestershire sauce and Heinz 57 sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2006
We make these into individual packets and cook on the grill. We also add a few spoonfuls of cream of mushroom soup straight from the can to make a nice gravy. I also add 1 Tb. minute rice and 2 ice cubes with the soup instead of potatoes for hubby who does not like potatoes. (The ice cube is easier to wrap than the water.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dawn Berry

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2004
We really liked this recipe. I went with others recommendations and added Worcestershire sauce, seasoning salt, pepper, garlic powder, and onion powder to the meat. I used ground turkey instead of ground beef and just layered on the bottom of the pan as opposed to making patties. I also used seasoning salt instead of regular salt on vegetables. My husband and I both agreed that this recipe will be added to a regular ground beef recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2002
Good, but will make sure the beef is extra lean so it isn't sitting in much of the drippings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2002
Have been making these for years, mostly on camping trips. Maybe that's why I like them, we only get them a few times each summer. I like to crumble the meat instead of patties. Although I would never make these for dinner when at home, the recipe is a VERY simple way to make meat and potatoes...a dish my boyfriend USED to live off of.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 182) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cozy Winter Dinner

Nothing makes a dinner party more inviting than satisfying comfort food.

Flank Steak Dinner

Tuck into a low-carb meal of steak, avocado salsa, and cauliflower “rice."

Low-Cal Pork Tenderloin Dinner

You'll feel like you're splurging on this decadent, 600-calorie meal.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States