Hobo Dinner Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2008
This is a favorite in my house. Easy too make, delicious to eat, and supper easy to clean up. Only made even better with gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by angels3bmd

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2008
I like to add more flavor, like in Paula Deen's Hobo Burgers. She adds egg, cracker, cheese, green pepper, salt, black pepper to the patties. Layers with the onion, potato, carrott, and bacon. Each serving is individually wrapped. My family loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2008
Well I can't argue with the ease of cleanup! I thought they were tasty, but after reading the reviews of blandness, I seasoned both sides of the patties with Emeril's Steak Rub, then sprinkled Seasoned Salt on after adding the veggies. A little greasy from the meat, but maybe you could put pieces of bread under the meat to soak up some of the fat?? Everything came out very tender and yummy - I'll make again! May even try camping since I've never had them like that before.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MPMommy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2008
After adding some ingredients as others suggested I found this was pretty tasty. However I don't think aluminum foil is the best choice to contain a family sized meal (though probably okay if you do individual portions). The juices leaked out and I found myself scrambling to add foil so it didn't dry out. In the future, I use one of those easy to seal oven bags.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2008
I make these quite often and my recipe is very similar to this. I took the advice of this recipe and added some carrots and they were pretty yummy. I usually add a little bit of soy sauce just to add a bit of flavor and use the extra lean ground beef.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2008
My dad used to make these for us when we were kids. I now use turkey burger and then season it with a garlic powder, salt and pepper mix. I then add approximately a 1/2 a can of cream of mushroom soup per hobo and then the onions, carrots, celery and potatoes - wrap it up in foil, put it in the oven and bake as directed in this recipe - my hubby loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2008
This is a very good meal. My only suggestion is to use lean meat and add butter to it before baking. I also season my meat to our liking before cooking. It also works to cook this on the grill, but you have to pay more attention to it and flip quite often. I grew up on this recipe as my dad would make it everytime we went camping (usually 2 or 3 times on each trip) making it over an open fire. It's been one of my favorites since I was 7 years old.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Windom, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Sauk Centre, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2008
This was very simple to throw together. Taste wise it was okay, like another cook said it needed gravy. I probably won't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LALASCATS

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Madison, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2008
This is great and easy recipe! My Mom used to make these for a no-mess Wednesday night dinner before Bible study. I always make the ground beef patties with Lipton's Onion Soup Mix before putting them in with the rest of the veggies. Makes them taste AWESOME! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristina Hooker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: West, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2008
A very quick and easy to get ready dinner dish. We did as some others said and added some beef granuals for added flavor. We also added some sliced mushrooms to the dish. We will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 183) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cozy Winter Dinner

Nothing makes a dinner party more inviting than satisfying comfort food.

Flank Steak Dinner

Tuck into a low-carb meal of steak, avocado salsa, and cauliflower “rice."

Low-Cal Pork Tenderloin Dinner

You'll feel like you're splurging on this decadent, 600-calorie meal.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States