Hobo Dinner Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2008
These were really good. I made these in individual packets and also added celery for extra flavor. I made a brown gravy to pour on when they came out of the oven. The kids loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shelly Van Kirk Moran

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Logan, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Bellbrook, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2008
Pretty good eats! If you want to make this super easy, use the prepared beef patties from your local grocery store and top with veggies. Makes a easy dinner for busy moms!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FRIEDGREENMATERMOMMA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Meridian, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Columbus, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2008
This was really good. I used teriyaki marinade and red pepper flakes to flavor the meat. I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2008
This was super yummy! BUT.... I added tons of seasonings to make it yummy. I cooked each person's meal individually wrapped in tinfoil. My kids thought it was so cool! I put the hamburger patty down first & seasoned it with garlic salt, salt, pepper, seasoning salt, onion salt & hamburger seasoning. Then I peeled & diced a potatoe up for each person & also carrots into round slices. I seasoned those with salt & pepper & garlic salt. Then I added 2 TBSP of butter ontop of everything & sealed the tinfoil up. I baked these in the oven on 400 degrees for about 45 min. My whole family loved it & it was super easy & very tasty & just something fun & different!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2008
Sometimes putting a teaspoon or two of water helps(just be careful when you wrap the tinfoil up). My dad taught me how to make this when I was a little girl. You can throw the packets directly on a campfire, although it is a lot quicker with a grill.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2008
My kids really loved this. My 4 year old doesn't like potatoes but since I cut them up like fries he really liked it. Anything the kids like is a winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2008
added the onion soup mix to the recipe and it was flavorful. I think I cut my potatoes too big and I used the mini carrots and didn't cut them so they never got soft, both of which I'd do differently next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2008
5 stars for the inspiration below. My Nephew asked for “Hobo stew” for a camping trip where I was cooking on a campfire for 30 and I didn’t have a clue what he wanted. I only had a tri-pod and needed to go with individual foil packets, for speed and cleanliness. I wanted these to cook faster, so I did prep work at home. I pattied the hamburgers and threw them on my gas grill and par boiled the veggies. I threw a grilled hamburger, the veggies, salt, pepper and a few tablespoons of cream of mushroom soup in a single serving foil packet. I switched to the cream soup instead of the onion soup to make up for the juices lost from grilling. It only took about 10 minutes or so on a very hot campfire with the tri-pod dropped to just a few inches off the flame, turning once. Very simple, but it was the hit supper of the week! Thank you for the idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GERRIERPH1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wausau, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Maryville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2008
This is a family favorite. I have made it a few times now and always as a beefy onion soup mix (Lipton's) to the meat before making the patties. Then I make some kind of gravy to pour over the entire dish. I have used all kinds of veggies as well. Everything works great, so delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2008
This is a favorite in my house. Easy too make, delicious to eat, and supper easy to clean up. Only made even better with gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by angels3bmd

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 182) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cozy Winter Dinner

Nothing makes a dinner party more inviting than satisfying comfort food.

Flank Steak Dinner

Tuck into a low-carb meal of steak, avocado salsa, and cauliflower “rice."

Low-Cal Pork Tenderloin Dinner

You'll feel like you're splurging on this decadent, 600-calorie meal.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States