Hobo Dinner Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2010
i love this but i added sliced bell pepper as well as worchestershire. delicious and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2010
For years our family has made "foil dinners", a small meal placed in individual foil packets and thrown into the coals at the campfire to cook, for every camping trip. It's tradition, so when my 12yo daughter saw this recipe she got so excited and couldn't wait to try it. We had simply never thought to try it at home. What a fun and simple idea. We followed our family recipe, which is similar to the changes many others make. We add heaps of pepper, onion soup mix, and garlic to the beef, then top everything with extra pepper, Chugwater Chili Powder, and some salt. It's like camping without lugging the gear out!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2010
We always put condensed cream of mushroom soup in them and used seasoned salt instead of regular. Delicious! I grew up making these while camping. We would double the aluminum foil and lay the on the grill over the campfire.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MrsHappyHomemaker
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2010
My mom made this for me growing up & she got the recipe from her mom. Sometimes I add a package of onion soup mix, and sometimes I just add a good bit of worcestershire sauce both to the meat, and then more on top of the patty/veggies. Also, I make individual foil packets instead of one big one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsHappyHomemaker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Staley, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Asheboro, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2010
Everything was good, but my husband and I think that the meat needed to be seasoned. Will try again with that change.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2009
We've been making this dish for generations. My in-laws prefer to put it on the grill, I prefer the oven. We all add golden mushroom soup and it makes ALL the difference. I made it once before with cream of mushroom and we thought it was awful. I hate mushrooms, but the golden mushroom soup adds the perfect flavor to this super easy meal! It's also a meal my kids will eat without any fuss.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2009
This is very good. My family really enjoyed it. I would definitely use a lean ground beef. I added onion soup mix to the meat. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Betsy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Rosa, California, USA
Living In: Farmington, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2009
we make these when we are camping they are wonderful! I didn't even think about making them in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2009
Just like I remember making in foil packets in the campfire while I was growing up! So very easy and filling. No one complains about a good oldfashioned hobo dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Chanhassen, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Norwood, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2009
This is the only meal my Dad would cook when we were little! There are a few differences between this recipe and how my Dad made it. He usually browned the hamburger and onion together instead of making patties, sliced the potatoes thinly, and sliced the carrot into thin rounds. We also added shredded cheese! You can't live in Minnesota without adding cheese to your hot dish (a.k.a. casserole in most other parts of the country LOL!) He then layered them as follows: Hamburger, potatoes, carrots, salt and pepper to taste, a thin layer of shredded cheese and then repeat the potato, carrot and cheese layer again. This way it doesn't take as long to bake and is easier for serving little ones because the hamburger is already in little pieces. I think in the future when making this though, I will try what k4trln4 suggested in the review from Sept. 21, '09 and place the potatoes on the bottom of the dish so that they will get done faster! Such a simple but good supper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by M&K's Mommy

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 41-50 (of 181) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Cozy Winter Dinner

Nothing makes a dinner party more inviting than satisfying comfort food.

Delectable Pork Chop Dinner

See how to make this sophisticated but surprisingly simple dinner.

Low-Cal Hawaiian Chicken Kabob Dinner

This 600-calorie meal is full of tropical and Asian-infused delights.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States