Hobo Dinner Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: May 26, 2010
needs safron or garlic powder, some flavor. but overall a good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blairabelle

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Westport, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: May 24, 2010
I love how easy this is... especially on nights where my husband and child need to eat and I can't make them dinner! We used more than one pound of ground beef. I think next time I might put some butter on top to give the potatoes a bit of that flavor. Overall, it is was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannen Espelien

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2010
i love this but i added sliced bell pepper as well as worchestershire. delicious and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2010
For years our family has made "foil dinners", a small meal placed in individual foil packets and thrown into the coals at the campfire to cook, for every camping trip. It's tradition, so when my 12yo daughter saw this recipe she got so excited and couldn't wait to try it. We had simply never thought to try it at home. What a fun and simple idea. We followed our family recipe, which is similar to the changes many others make. We add heaps of pepper, onion soup mix, and garlic to the beef, then top everything with extra pepper, Chugwater Chili Powder, and some salt. It's like camping without lugging the gear out!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2010
We always put condensed cream of mushroom soup in them and used seasoned salt instead of regular. Delicious! I grew up making these while camping. We would double the aluminum foil and lay the on the grill over the campfire.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MrsHappyHomemaker
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2010
My mom made this for me growing up & she got the recipe from her mom. Sometimes I add a package of onion soup mix, and sometimes I just add a good bit of worcestershire sauce both to the meat, and then more on top of the patty/veggies. Also, I make individual foil packets instead of one big one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsHappyHomemaker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Staley, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Asheboro, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2010
Everything was good, but my husband and I think that the meat needed to be seasoned. Will try again with that change.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2009
We've been making this dish for generations. My in-laws prefer to put it on the grill, I prefer the oven. We all add golden mushroom soup and it makes ALL the difference. I made it once before with cream of mushroom and we thought it was awful. I hate mushrooms, but the golden mushroom soup adds the perfect flavor to this super easy meal! It's also a meal my kids will eat without any fuss.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2009
This is very good. My family really enjoyed it. I would definitely use a lean ground beef. I added onion soup mix to the meat. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Betsy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Rosa, California, USA
Living In: Farmington, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2009
we make these when we are camping they are wonderful! I didn't even think about making them in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chairity Ann Heiden

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 183) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cozy Winter Dinner

Nothing makes a dinner party more inviting than satisfying comfort food.

Flank Steak Dinner

Tuck into a low-carb meal of steak, avocado salsa, and cauliflower “rice."

Low-Cal Pork Tenderloin Dinner

You'll feel like you're splurging on this decadent, 600-calorie meal.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States