Hobo Dinner Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2013
I made this for our dinner last night and we really enjoyed it. I sprinkled some soy sauce on the patties, dotted a little butter on top, and omitted the garlic salt. I used plenty of salt and freshly ground black pepper. The onions caramelized over the other ingredients and added lots of flavor. I will be making this again. Easy to make. Easy to clean up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rocquie

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
My kids and I loved this recipe. My husband came home late and was disappointed that there wasn't much left. We've since made it again. Two additions I made: I seasoned the beef liberally (like burgers) with salt, garlic, pepper. And I seasoned the entire dish the same. And some of us ate it with ketchup. Yum, yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2012
I only gave 4 stars because I did not follow the recipe exactly. What turned out was worth 5 stars for sure! To the ground meat (we used deer meat), I added dry bread crumbs (homemade, Panko-type), garlic powder, salt, pepper, onion powder, minced onion, and 2 eggs. Yes, it is very similar to meatloaf. Then, I shaped into small, thin patties and followed the rest of the recipe as written. I also made a white, pan gravy to go with this meal. Even my picky son commented that it was WAY better than he expected. He is not big on cooked carrots but he said he could eat the meat and potatoes everyday. That is a gigantic compliment! We will make this again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeeplette

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Anna, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2012
I have made something very similar for years, only I make them in indivdual foil pockets and add my favorite bar-b-que sauce on top of everything and cook on the grill. One of my families favorite summertime meals!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by slr814

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bloomington, Indiana, USA
Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2012
Have had these before so the recipe is not new to me. The biggest thing I do different is I wrap each individual portion in heavy duty aluminum foil, add a little butter and seal tightly and put them on the grill. Doing it this way enables everyone to adapt the recipe to their own taste (more or less spice, different veggies etc.) Easy to put together and easy to clean up afterwards.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2012
I love this recipe. Sometimes I add a 1/4 of a green or red pepper, in summer I add squash or tomato (usually at last 1/2 of cooking time.) Have also substituted chicken with success
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2012
Great meal, my family will use it often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2011
My family has been making this for 30 years with the addition of a key ingredient and the last thing we add is a can of diced tomatoes and pour the tomatoes juice on top then salt and pepper. My mom always made each family member our own little pouch with our favorite vegetables which for me Patotoes, Onions, Mushrooms, green beans. Sometimes she added a little cabbage. It was always a total meal with fresh rolls. Play with it and come up with your liking but tomatoes and a little juice poured on each one is the key. Hope this helps for the ones who said it was dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Teresa Burns

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2011
Made these for dinner one night and they were so good, so easy to make, so easy to clean up...they're adaptable too, if you want to spice differently. (though I made them as is)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bunny

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ronan, Montana, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2011
I been making these for years.I Double wrap them in foil,and cook them on coal's of our campfire,when we camp. I never use ground beef but sauage. Add whaterver you like. Like bellpepers! Yum very delish!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alana

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Selma, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 183) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cozy Winter Dinner

Nothing makes a dinner party more inviting than satisfying comfort food.

Flank Steak Dinner

Tuck into a low-carb meal of steak, avocado salsa, and cauliflower “rice."

Low-Cal Pork Tenderloin Dinner

You'll feel like you're splurging on this decadent, 600-calorie meal.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States