Hobo Dinner Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2007
I really liked this recipe as it was easy and quick to prepare. I tweaked it a little bit to my husbands tastes though. I used my vegetable peeler to shave slivers of the carrots instead of large pieces cut lengthwise (my husband isn't too big on carrots). I also added diced tomatoes as a layer in between the potatoes and the meat. The potatoes I cut into large coin shaped pieces. I also used fresh garlic I minced myself and I sprinkled powdered bouillon over the meat as well. All in all a good recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsCarmon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ollei, Ngarchelong, Palau
Living In: Lafayette, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2007
Does it get any better than this, very little clean up, you have a full meal without all the mess!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Emmet, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2007
Good recipe. Substituted fresh potatoes for canned new potatoes and canned carrots to the fresh ones. Used salt, pepper, and onion flakes for seasoning. Meat was extremely moist-just fell apart along with the veggies. Great recipes for those busy moms that need to throw some food in the oven fast while helping kids with baths and homework!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2007
This recipe needs a lot of help. This is extremely bland and very boring - tastes like something you would eat if you had to go camping. Ground beef rolled into balls = no flavor. Maybe add some oregano, parsley, garlic and onion to the beef before making it into patties? Maybe add a can of tomato sauce? I really don't know - this is just so, so bland and not very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2007
This is a great recipe, especially for single folks. I just got a pack of hamburger patties, and cook one at a time for a quick and easy dinner. Also, a little pat of butter really make this meal melt in your mouth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Birmingham, Alabama, USA
Living In: Mobile, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2007
Put ingredients into there own individuals tin foil peice and take on camping trips. Cook in an open fire for 1- 1 1/2 hours. Best time to cook in open fire is when it is all red hot coals
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2007
This is one of my kids favorite. My family used to make in when we used to camp and it was just passed down. I use ground turkey mixed with a ranch dip packet(Not the dip, just the mix!). For seasoning, I always use Mrs. Dash original seasoning. We add bell pepers and cabtbage and this makes for a very quick, tasty and filling meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2007
This meal was excellent. I used lean ground beef and followed recommendation to add 1 pkg. of onion soup mix pdr. I made it in layers and sprinkled a little seasoning salt between layers. Next time I will increase the amount of onion. I let it bake for 1 3/4 hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smithers, British Columbia, Canada
Living In: Grants Pass, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2007
Much too bland and dry. If I were to try it again I would add some tomatoes and juice to add some moisture and flavor. Maybe some additional veggies would help as well. It has potential but needs some work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Hope, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2007
We use to pack these in the cooler & bury them in the fire coals while camping...As others have suggeseted, def. add onions, potatoes & cabbagge. Polish sausage works well if you want to subsitute the ground beef. Give your oven a rest & use your grill!!! YUM-O!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Adrian

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Okeana, Ohio, USA

Displaying results 91-100 (of 173) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Cozy Winter Dinner

Nothing makes a dinner party more inviting than satisfying comfort food.

Delectable Pork Chop Dinner

See how to make this sophisticated but surprisingly simple dinner.

Low-Cal Hawaiian Chicken Kabob Dinner

This 600-calorie meal is full of tropical and Asian-infused delights.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States