Hobo Dinner Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2008
Very tasty if a little underseasoned for my preferences. I did substitute baby carrots and I added some seasoning to the meat to make it even more flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Slidell, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2007
This recipe is very good and sooo simple to make! You can season it how you want and make it to your liking. I love making it because I always have the ingredients in my house and I can put it in the oven, go pick hubby up from work and dinner is done when we get home! Thanks for sharing this!! I always use Eskimo Joes Fry Seasoning on the meat, potatoes and carrots and it tastes great! I have made it probably 5 times in the last two months. Hubby requests this all the time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmond, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Bedford, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2007
the men in my house loved this recipe, which makes a hearty amount and is good ol fashined comfort food! very good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel k.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lancaster, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2007
This recipe is a good basic recipe. Very easy to spice up to your own personal tastes. Took the advice from other reviews and added an envelope of onion soup mix to the ground beef. Also a little seasoned salt to the potatoes and carrots. Hubby and toddlers loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2007
I followed the advice of some others reviewers and seasoned my ground beef. I also added green peppers and celery. The flavors were really good and it was super easy to make, but it really needed some gravy or sauce of some sort. I ended up making a quick brown gravy to go over it and it made a big difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rifle, Colorado, USA
Living In: Littleton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2007
This was an easy dinner for my daughters and I while my husband was away, and something I have not had since my days in Girl Scouts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Alyson
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2007
I thought this was super delicious! I followed other suggestions and added more seasoning. I added chopped onions to the ground beef as well as bouillon granules, garlic powder, pepper, and seasoned salt. Thanks for sharing! It was perfect and very filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alyson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Hammondsport, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2007
My grandma made this a lot when I was young, except she would put individual servings in a microwave safe pie plate (covered with saran wrap) with all the listed ingredients as well as celery. To this day, it still brings back great memories.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Laurel, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2007
This is the first time my husband has said "Give it 5 stars!!!" It was better than the times I put this kind of thing on the grill. I added onion soup mix (1/2 a pkg)to the meat. I added a little bit of beef broth (from boullion) and put in a few butter patties. My husband is HARD to please, but he loved this. Thank You!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Oshkosh, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Wautoma, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2007
I really liked this recipe as it was easy and quick to prepare. I tweaked it a little bit to my husbands tastes though. I used my vegetable peeler to shave slivers of the carrots instead of large pieces cut lengthwise (my husband isn't too big on carrots). I also added diced tomatoes as a layer in between the potatoes and the meat. The potatoes I cut into large coin shaped pieces. I also used fresh garlic I minced myself and I sprinkled powdered bouillon over the meat as well. All in all a good recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsCarmon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ollei, Ngarchelong, Palau
Living In: Lafayette, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 182) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cozy Winter Dinner

Nothing makes a dinner party more inviting than satisfying comfort food.

Flank Steak Dinner

Tuck into a low-carb meal of steak, avocado salsa, and cauliflower “rice."

Low-Cal Pork Tenderloin Dinner

You'll feel like you're splurging on this decadent, 600-calorie meal.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States