Hobo Dinner Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2014
Kids didn't like
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2014
This is very easy to make and a favorite. My husband remembers his mom making it when he was a child and I remember it as something we would make when camping. Perfect for lazy Saturday's
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Milton, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2014
It was pretty good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2014
Make this all the time. Add any flavouring youd like
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sadie Van Roie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lrod
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2014
Easy to make. Added Worcestershire sauce to meat, and corn to vegetables. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sam2gibson
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2014
Very fun and easy recipe. I added Worcestershire sauce and corn. Easy clean up= successful dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2014
This dinner was good it just needed more flavoring (spices ). A bit bland. I was good tho.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2014
My husband was kind of iffy at first, but finally made it. He ate most of it and kept repeating how good it was, definitely will be making this again. Very easy to make!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2014
The thing I liked most about this was the potatoes, and that was only because I added in some beef broth to the dish before cooking. The rest of it I found very bland, even with adding onion salt, garlic salt, and Worcestershire sauce to the ground beef. The roomie and I agreed, baking them in patties was a horrible idea. Next time I'll try browning the meat in a skillet first and crumbling it into the dish. I'll also experiment with some spices, because this just lacked flavour all over. We couldn't even bring ourselves to finish the leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Bristol, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2014
YUM! Both my hubs and I REALLY enjoyed this!!! Although the concept isn't foreign to me (thanks to my time as a Girl Scout!), I've never made a hobo-style meal myself. Not only is this simple, stick-to-your ribs fare, it's flexible, frugal and easy to prepare. I do suggest a few alterations, however. Adding a packet of dry onion soup mix to your beef gives it incredible flavor. A generous splash of Worcestershire sauce and s&p (to taste) also goes a long way. My only gripe is that my beef patties were slightly overcooked at the hour mark. The veggies were perfectly tender tho, so I think I'll just pop them in the oven first and then add the meat (on top of the veggies) half way thru the cooking time. FYI, if you want to use baby carrots instead, you'll need about 16-20 of them. Thanks SO much for sharing your genius recipe, Debbie. This halved easily to accommodate my small family and tasted delicious. I can't wait to try this on the grill (in individual foil packets) this summer! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 182) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cozy Winter Dinner

Nothing makes a dinner party more inviting than satisfying comfort food.

Flank Steak Dinner

Tuck into a low-carb meal of steak, avocado salsa, and cauliflower “rice."

Low-Cal Pork Tenderloin Dinner

You'll feel like you're splurging on this decadent, 600-calorie meal.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States