Hobo Beef and Vegetable Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2010
This is exactly like the Autumn Soup I have made for years in the Fall. It doesn't seem like it would be tasty but it is wonderful with crusty bread. I have brought this to work and everyone wanted the recipe. An inexpensive, flavorful meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fran

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2010
This is a great recipe but instead of using canned peas, beans and corn I used frozen and added a few handfuls of barley to round out the nutrition. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
75 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kararae_

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
This soup is delicious and very easy to make. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2010
Delish! I changed a few things this time I made it. I used plum tomatoes that I smashed w/ about 8 ozs of tomato sauce instead of the canned tomatoes. Added two extra potatoes and about 3 cups extra beef broth. I will DEFINITELY be making this again--also great the second day!! UPDATE: This time I also used fresh green beans instead of the canned and cooked the soup in a pot on the stove-top. Way good with all the fresh veggies! Thanks for a great recipe. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Flower Mound, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2010
This was delicious. Was an easy way to get my son to eat his veggies. Great with cornbread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2011
This is a great soup and I've made it several times. One time I was in a hurry and put the ground beef in the crock pot raw and it cooked up fine. Another time I used frozen mixed vegetables instead of canned. My husband doesn't like chunky stewed tomatoes so I use tomato sauce. Half way through I add more beef broth because it usually needs it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Kansas, USA
Living In: Shreveport, Louisiana, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2012
also adding cabbage with the other vegetables is good also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Owensboro, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2012
great, we've been making this for years, add cabbage to ours, and use frozen or fresh veggies. Real comfort food on a cold day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2012
This is almost exactly like my soup, I call Hamburger Soup. I too use whatever I have. The only difference I see is I use more fresh celery and leave out the celery seed. I also use Sweet Basil instead of Bay leaves. I don't like bay. You can use 3 or 4 bouillon cubes with water instead of the beef broth. Just be sure to taste it for saltiness after each Boullion cube is added. They are salty but handy to have on hand in the cupboard. Add salt very last thing or another bouillon cube instead. Chicken or beef bouillon works great. This is my go to recipe when I'm in the mood for soup or it's cold outside. I also like to add some bell pepper at the beginning and yellow squash (frozen or fresh) at the end so it doesn't get cooked to pieces. I'm sure you will add the veggies you like and whatever that is, it will come out great with this basic recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carol Rasberry
Home Town: Abilene, Texas, USA
Living In: Merkel, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2012
Wonderful soup! I followed exactly but did add a little salt and pepper to the finished soup. Made homemade biscuits to serve with this and I will be making this again. Thanks KA187 for submitting this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PATWEIGAND
Home Town: Evansville, Indiana, USA
Living In: Newburgh, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Easy Vegetable Beef Soup

See how to make a super-simple soup with veggies and ground beef.

Spicy Vietnamese Beef Noodle Soup

Chef John makes pho, the spicy Vietnamese noodle soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States