Hobo Beef and Vegetable Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2010
This is exactly like the Autumn Soup I have made for years in the Fall. It doesn't seem like it would be tasty but it is wonderful with crusty bread. I have brought this to work and everyone wanted the recipe. An inexpensive, flavorful meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fran

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2010
This is a great recipe but instead of using canned peas, beans and corn I used frozen and added a few handfuls of barley to round out the nutrition. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
76 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kararae_

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2010
Yummy. My crock pot filled up before I could add the beans and peas, which was okay, because I didn't have them anyway. I was planning to add frozen mixed veggies in their place, but the soup was good with all the other veggies already. Oh, and I didn't have celery seed, so I used a little celery salt instead. Thanks for a good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: London, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2010
Delish! I changed a few things this time I made it. I used plum tomatoes that I smashed w/ about 8 ozs of tomato sauce instead of the canned tomatoes. Added two extra potatoes and about 3 cups extra beef broth. I will DEFINITELY be making this again--also great the second day!! UPDATE: This time I also used fresh green beans instead of the canned and cooked the soup in a pot on the stove-top. Way good with all the fresh veggies! Thanks for a great recipe. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Flower Mound, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2010
This was delicious. Was an easy way to get my son to eat his veggies. Great with cornbread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2010
This is a great soup but I might make some changes next time I make it. I used sweet potatoes instead of regular, but the soup was too sweet. Also, there wasn't a whole lot of flavor. I will add more herbs next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2011
I didn't read ahead and didn't realize this was a slow cooker recipe - I made it on the stove top - simmered with canned carrots rather than fresh and 1 can of sliced potatoes - added Tony Chacere's seasoning - served with corn bread and it was great! Husband loved it and had left overs!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
I can't give 5 stars because I did make some changes. I used stew meat, celery salt instead of seed, a bag of frozen mixed vegetables instead of canned and a 15 oz can of tomato sauce because we like it more saucy. This was a hit and I will certainly make it again, using the same changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rock_lobster
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2011
Hobo Beef & Vegetable Soup: "I'd give this a 2. But my family ate a TON. To me, it lacked 'oomph.'" Watching my husband and daughter gleefully devour their bowls made me nudge my rating up a star. This is definitely one of those soups that can clear out the remaining bags of frozen veggies, which is the way I went as I'm not a fan of the texture of canned green beans, peas, or corn. I followed the recipe exactly, (w/ the exception of the frozen veggies) and I used diced tomatoes instead of stewed. The end result, while tasty, wasn't mind-blowing, although when I went to simmer it on day 2, I added 1/2 c. ditalini pasta, which helped sponge up a bunch of the liquid. It's just a soup that can't decide if it wants to be chili, or a stew, so if I made it again, I would either sub stew meat for the ground beef (going the stew route), or decrease the liquids and sub kidney beans for the green beans & peas (going the chili route.) But regardless of which direction I took this recipe, I would most definitely bump up the seasonings; more garlic, pepper, thyme.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rock_lobster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Braselton, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: May 2, 2011
This was very satisfying after a full day of yardwork. I only had a 32 oz carton of beef broth so I skipped the potatoes since I thought they might soak up too much liquid. I followed the advice of the reviewers and used a half bag of frozen veggies. The only reason I took away a star was because I added some Italian seasoning and am glad I did. It made it perfect for us. I liked that the broth was more beefy than tomatoey. I will make this again with the potatoes but will make sure to have extra beef broth on hand as the recipe states.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missdrea

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Easy Vegetable Beef Soup

See how to make a super-simple soup with veggies and ground beef.

Make-Ahead Slow Cooker Beef Stew

See how to make a flavorful beef stew with vegetables in a slow-cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States