Hobo Beef and Vegetable Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2010
This is exactly like the Autumn Soup I have made for years in the Fall. It doesn't seem like it would be tasty but it is wonderful with crusty bread. I have brought this to work and everyone wanted the recipe. An inexpensive, flavorful meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fran

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2010
This is a great recipe but instead of using canned peas, beans and corn I used frozen and added a few handfuls of barley to round out the nutrition. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
74 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kararae_

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2010
Yummy. My crock pot filled up before I could add the beans and peas, which was okay, because I didn't have them anyway. I was planning to add frozen mixed veggies in their place, but the soup was good with all the other veggies already. Oh, and I didn't have celery seed, so I used a little celery salt instead. Thanks for a good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: London, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2010
Delish! I changed a few things this time I made it. I used plum tomatoes that I smashed w/ about 8 ozs of tomato sauce instead of the canned tomatoes. Added two extra potatoes and about 3 cups extra beef broth. I will DEFINITELY be making this again--also great the second day!! UPDATE: This time I also used fresh green beans instead of the canned and cooked the soup in a pot on the stove-top. Way good with all the fresh veggies! Thanks for a great recipe. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Flower Mound, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2010
This was delicious. Was an easy way to get my son to eat his veggies. Great with cornbread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2010
This is a great soup but I might make some changes next time I make it. I used sweet potatoes instead of regular, but the soup was too sweet. Also, there wasn't a whole lot of flavor. I will add more herbs next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2011
I didn't read ahead and didn't realize this was a slow cooker recipe - I made it on the stove top - simmered with canned carrots rather than fresh and 1 can of sliced potatoes - added Tony Chacere's seasoning - served with corn bread and it was great! Husband loved it and had left overs!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
I can't give 5 stars because I did make some changes. I used stew meat, celery salt instead of seed, a bag of frozen mixed vegetables instead of canned and a 15 oz can of tomato sauce because we like it more saucy. This was a hit and I will certainly make it again, using the same changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rock_lobster
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2011
Hobo Beef & Vegetable Soup: "I'd give this a 2. But my family ate a TON. To me, it lacked 'oomph.'" Watching my husband and daughter gleefully devour their bowls made me nudge my rating up a star. This is definitely one of those soups that can clear out the remaining bags of frozen veggies, which is the way I went as I'm not a fan of the texture of canned green beans, peas, or corn. I followed the recipe exactly, (w/ the exception of the frozen veggies) and I used diced tomatoes instead of stewed. The end result, while tasty, wasn't mind-blowing, although when I went to simmer it on day 2, I added 1/2 c. ditalini pasta, which helped sponge up a bunch of the liquid. It's just a soup that can't decide if it wants to be chili, or a stew, so if I made it again, I would either sub stew meat for the ground beef (going the stew route), or decrease the liquids and sub kidney beans for the green beans & peas (going the chili route.) But regardless of which direction I took this recipe, I would most definitely bump up the seasonings; more garlic, pepper, thyme.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rock_lobster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Braselton, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: May 2, 2011
This was very satisfying after a full day of yardwork. I only had a 32 oz carton of beef broth so I skipped the potatoes since I thought they might soak up too much liquid. I followed the advice of the reviewers and used a half bag of frozen veggies. The only reason I took away a star was because I added some Italian seasoning and am glad I did. It made it perfect for us. I liked that the broth was more beefy than tomatoey. I will make this again with the potatoes but will make sure to have extra beef broth on hand as the recipe states.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MI$$DREA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Easy Vegetable Beef Soup

See how to make a super-simple soup with veggies and ground beef.

Spicy Vietnamese Beef Noodle Soup

Chef John makes pho, the spicy Vietnamese noodle soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States