Hobo Beef and Vegetable Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by Marcia
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2012
I gave the receipe 5 stars because I am not a soup eater...however this soup has changed my mind. Although I did not follow the directions directly...it's the type of receipe that doesnt have to be. As many of the reviews said you will need some extra beef broth. I also added some Mrs. Dash & black pepper. I could not find celery seed but I had the fresh celery and celery flakes. Also, I had some left over ground beef already cooked so I omitted making the ground beef mixture on the stove, I just added everything to the crockpot set it to 10hrs and went to bed..I used frozen veggies vs can and they were not soggy but nice and crisp once the soup was complete.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marcia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2012
Wonderful soup! I followed exactly but did add a little salt and pepper to the finished soup. Made homemade biscuits to serve with this and I will be making this again. Thanks KA187 for submitting this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PATWEIGAND
Home Town: Evansville, Indiana, USA
Living In: Newburgh, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2012
This is almost exactly like my soup, I call Hamburger Soup. I too use whatever I have. The only difference I see is I use more fresh celery and leave out the celery seed. I also use Sweet Basil instead of Bay leaves. I don't like bay. You can use 3 or 4 bouillon cubes with water instead of the beef broth. Just be sure to taste it for saltiness after each Boullion cube is added. They are salty but handy to have on hand in the cupboard. Add salt very last thing or another bouillon cube instead. Chicken or beef bouillon works great. This is my go to recipe when I'm in the mood for soup or it's cold outside. I also like to add some bell pepper at the beginning and yellow squash (frozen or fresh) at the end so it doesn't get cooked to pieces. I'm sure you will add the veggies you like and whatever that is, it will come out great with this basic recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Abilene, Texas, USA
Living In: Merkel, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2012
I make this but instead to make it more of a "Hobo Soup" I buy 2-3 cans of mixed vegetables and 1 chopped onion and minced garlic and 1-2 cans of chopped tomatoes (not stewed tomatoes they are too sweet) and add the broth or instant bouillon and add the ground beef raw and place all this in a crockpot or stock pot and just like the hobo would do-all in 1 pot. Add the spices according to taste or just rely on the ones in the canned veges. quick and easy and very economical!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mishawaka, Indiana, USA
Living In: Highland Park, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2012
great, we've been making this for years, add cabbage to ours, and use frozen or fresh veggies. Real comfort food on a cold day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2012
also adding cabbage with the other vegetables is good also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Owensboro, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
This soup is delicious and very easy to make. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2011
This is a great soup and I've made it several times. One time I was in a hurry and put the ground beef in the crock pot raw and it cooked up fine. Another time I used frozen mixed vegetables instead of canned. My husband doesn't like chunky stewed tomatoes so I use tomato sauce. Half way through I add more beef broth because it usually needs it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Kansas, USA
Living In: Shreveport, Louisiana, USA
Reviewed: May 2, 2011
This was very satisfying after a full day of yardwork. I only had a 32 oz carton of beef broth so I skipped the potatoes since I thought they might soak up too much liquid. I followed the advice of the reviewers and used a half bag of frozen veggies. The only reason I took away a star was because I added some Italian seasoning and am glad I did. It made it perfect for us. I liked that the broth was more beefy than tomatoey. I will make this again with the potatoes but will make sure to have extra beef broth on hand as the recipe states.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MI$$DREA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rock_lobster
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2011
Hobo Beef & Vegetable Soup: "I'd give this a 2. But my family ate a TON. To me, it lacked 'oomph.'" Watching my husband and daughter gleefully devour their bowls made me nudge my rating up a star. This is definitely one of those soups that can clear out the remaining bags of frozen veggies, which is the way I went as I'm not a fan of the texture of canned green beans, peas, or corn. I followed the recipe exactly, (w/ the exception of the frozen veggies) and I used diced tomatoes instead of stewed. The end result, while tasty, wasn't mind-blowing, although when I went to simmer it on day 2, I added 1/2 c. ditalini pasta, which helped sponge up a bunch of the liquid. It's just a soup that can't decide if it wants to be chili, or a stew, so if I made it again, I would either sub stew meat for the ground beef (going the stew route), or decrease the liquids and sub kidney beans for the green beans & peas (going the chili route.) But regardless of which direction I took this recipe, I would most definitely bump up the seasonings; more garlic, pepper, thyme.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rock_lobster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Braselton, Georgia, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Easy Vegetable Beef Soup

See how to make a super-simple soup with veggies and ground beef.

Spicy Vietnamese Beef Noodle Soup

Chef John makes pho, the spicy Vietnamese noodle soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States