Hobo Beef and Vegetable Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2012
Love this so much I have made it once a week since I found the recipe. Dont care for the green peas so I substitute with kidney beans!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2012
Crusty bread a must
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LC

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2012
This is hands down the best soup recipe i have ever gotten off this site. It is delicious, nutritious, easy, filling and pretty good calorically. I added about 28 ounces of water to the 32 ounces of broth to make it a little soupier, along with a tsp. of salt and 1/2 tsp. black pepper. I have made it many, many times, and usually add a jalepeno pepper (left whole but with 2 slits cut in it) when browning the onions, etc. And then remove the jalepeno before adding the potatoes, etc.. It gives the soup a nice flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Temple Hills, Maryland, USA
Living In: Orange, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2012
I made this in my Slow cooker and made a few changes. Used celery Salt instead of the Celery Seed, added a packet of the Swanson Beef Flavor for extra flavor (had used 3 bouliion cubes before but was better with the Flavor packet) Another thing that really picked it up was I added a small head of Cabbage to it .. Really Great tasting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2012
This was so good. It got a little cold outside and this really hit the spot. I love the flavors in it. I did take the bay leaves out after I cooked the carrots and added some basil and a small amount of oregano and this really gave it some more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2012
I was looking forward to this soup. I am from the Midwest and love comfort foods. However, this was bland. Kids thought it was OK, but not worth making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Carlsbad, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2012
This is okay but far too bland for my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carolyn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Glenwood, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2012
I give it 5 because the base flavor was really good and you could play around with the vegetable choices and ingredients to suit your own tastes. Unfortunately I had to throw it together in a pot instead of slow cooker but the flavor was still there. While the potatoes were cooking I added some rice and instead of green beans and peas I used spinach. It ended up being a really hearty and healthy meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sunlitme

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2012
A good meal on a cold winter's night. Next time I will either dice the potato small instead of medium, more probably add them (diced med) with the carrots as they didn't get quite tender enough for us. Also, I paid attention to the reviews and agreed there needed to be more flavor so I added Italian seasoning, crushed thyme, kosher salt, and cracked black pepper. I also felt I could have used more beef broth, but didn't have any so I used vegetable juice, knowing this was a great variance from the original recipe, but it worked well. One last tip - use a sachet (tied cheesecloth bag) for the bay leaves to make them easier to fish out at the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2012
It needed flavor enhancers...I used worchestire and pepper, and I thickened it up a bit... but it was good after that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Easy Vegetable Beef Soup

See how to make a super-simple soup with veggies and ground beef.

Spicy Vietnamese Beef Noodle Soup

Chef John makes pho, the spicy Vietnamese noodle soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States