Hobo Beef and Vegetable Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2012
This soup made lots and is a good way of working vegetables into your diet. I used frozen vegs. instead of the canned ones. The only thing I would change is add some seasoning as it is a little bit bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy G.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Thorold, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2012
Love this so much I have made it once a week since I found the recipe. Dont care for the green peas so I substitute with kidney beans!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2012
Crusty bread a must
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LC

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2012
This is hands down the best soup recipe i have ever gotten off this site. It is delicious, nutritious, easy, filling and pretty good calorically. I added about 28 ounces of water to the 32 ounces of broth to make it a little soupier, along with a tsp. of salt and 1/2 tsp. black pepper. I have made it many, many times, and usually add a jalepeno pepper (left whole but with 2 slits cut in it) when browning the onions, etc. And then remove the jalepeno before adding the potatoes, etc.. It gives the soup a nice flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Temple Hills, Maryland, USA
Living In: Orange, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2012
I made this in my Slow cooker and made a few changes. Used celery Salt instead of the Celery Seed, added a packet of the Swanson Beef Flavor for extra flavor (had used 3 bouliion cubes before but was better with the Flavor packet) Another thing that really picked it up was I added a small head of Cabbage to it .. Really Great tasting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2012
This was so good. It got a little cold outside and this really hit the spot. I love the flavors in it. I did take the bay leaves out after I cooked the carrots and added some basil and a small amount of oregano and this really gave it some more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2012
I was looking forward to this soup. I am from the Midwest and love comfort foods. However, this was bland. Kids thought it was OK, but not worth making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Carlsbad, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2012
This is okay but far too bland for my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carolyn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Glenwood, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2012
I give it 5 because the base flavor was really good and you could play around with the vegetable choices and ingredients to suit your own tastes. Unfortunately I had to throw it together in a pot instead of slow cooker but the flavor was still there. While the potatoes were cooking I added some rice and instead of green beans and peas I used spinach. It ended up being a really hearty and healthy meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sunlitme

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2012
A good meal on a cold winter's night. Next time I will either dice the potato small instead of medium, more probably add them (diced med) with the carrots as they didn't get quite tender enough for us. Also, I paid attention to the reviews and agreed there needed to be more flavor so I added Italian seasoning, crushed thyme, kosher salt, and cracked black pepper. I also felt I could have used more beef broth, but didn't have any so I used vegetable juice, knowing this was a great variance from the original recipe, but it worked well. One last tip - use a sachet (tied cheesecloth bag) for the bay leaves to make them easier to fish out at the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Easy Vegetable Beef Soup

See how to make a super-simple soup with veggies and ground beef.

Make-Ahead Slow Cooker Beef Stew

See how to make a flavorful beef stew with vegetables in a slow-cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States